Great Grandad's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
They taste better after about the second day, but they are the best sugar cookies ever! everyone will rave about them..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
Fabulous! I used butter flavored shortening, just a pinch of nutmeg, and increased the amount of salt and vanilla. Quite Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyheather06

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
This is a great recipe. They turned out perfect- like store bought cookies, and I used the recipe for icing that contains milk, powdered sugar and light Karo syrup. These decorated beautifully for Santa. I didn't add the nutmeg, but I did add a little more sugar after reading some of the reviews. I thought that they tasted excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
Awesome texture, no doubt. But aren't cookies supposed to have flavor? So puffy and light and perfect in form, yet without any kick whatsoever. With this much flour one must balance it with additional sugar, spices, or liquid flavoring. Something, anything to support the wonderful eye appeal so that you don't feel that you have been tricked with the first bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
I was looking for a recipe similar to the ones sold in cookie bouquets. This comes closer than others I've tried. It is a good recipe, but ever so slightly bland. I made ghosts for halloween and sprinkled them with powdered sugar. They turned out really nice and so far, everyone eating them came back for more! You will have to use a lot of flour to roll them out. Just try to use as little as possible. I rolled out just enough dough to do 2 or 3 (approx 3" diameter) cookies at a time. The dough is so soft, you don't even have to use a rolling pin. I let the kids pat them down with their hands and you couldn't tell the difference between the rolled and not rolled cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
I loved the texture and appearance of these, but I'm not sure about the nutmeg. My family just didn't go for it. I think I would try these again but with less (or no) nutmeg and maybe some lemon peel or extract. I didn't roll them out, instead I just used a cookie scoop to make about 1 inch balls and then pressed the tops with a glass dipped in sugar. I will try the recipe again, just with less nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
I read a lot of reviews that complained about this recipe, but I liked it a lot. It was easy, and there was no chilling involved like other recipes I've used. I also thought the flavor was great, not plain and tasteless like other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Yummy! These definately did puff. I was amazed. I have been searching for a fluffy cake like cookie and this is it!! I actually sat in front of the oven and watched them puff. They taste great, better with frosting. Totally easy, I did not even follow the recipe perfectly! I used butter instead of shortening, regular milk instead of sour and cinnamon instead of nutmeg! They key is to add flour, but just enought to keep from sticking to the table and not to roll them too thin, then they come out perfect, melt in your mouth soft!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
Wonderful, soft and yummy cookies! I have waited for a recipe like this. They puff up just right and have just the perfect hint of flavoring. You should have no problem with these cookies at all,, just follow the recipe, and remember to use updated ingredients, not out of date stuff, as u will always have a problem. Great and thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I think that this recipe was just wasting my time. The recipe does puff up,and looks rather good, but the cookie itself tastes like nothing. It does not taste good, even with icing. Don't waste your time on this tasteless recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States