Great Grandad's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This dough is sooooo sticky! I live at 4,500 ft and in a desert so I rarely add all the flour required in a recipe. I have now added an extra cup and a half to it and it still doesn't appear workable. I was worried after reading the reviews, they were so varied in opinion. I tried to roll it at first between two pieces of parchment and I can't get the parchment off, the dough just stuck equally to both pieces. The consistancy is very close to the coffee cake, and old fashioned cakes I have made. I was so frustrated by this that I signed on just to review it! I haven't even baked them yet, but to be safe I made the sugar cookies from Betty Crocker before. I will rely on those for my valentines day cookies and hope to make this recipe tolerable enough so that I don't waste so many ingredients and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I see there has been some negativity about this recipe. One said they didnt puff up enough. One said they were too bland, and tasted too much like flour. I found that if you rolled them too thin they didnt puff up they ended up flat, but if you rolled them thick enough they turn out fine. As far as taste I just added a bit more vanilla then it asked for and it was fine. As far as tasting too much like flour I can see that happening if you use the four cups and add the whole other two, or as much as recipe submitter has to use when she makes them due to her humidity. I used the four in the beginning but only used one cup at the end. I left my dough a little tacky but made somewhat of a ball out of it while tacky, then dipped the ball all sides into some flour that I had on the table, worked it in a bit then rolled out on floured surface. That seemed to help out with the over flouring. So for me I liked this recipe and it turned out great, cooking is all about experimenting and tweaking till you get it just the way you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Yumm! I have always been hesitant to make sugar cookies because my husband loves my friend's cookies so much, I didn't want to compete. I used this recipe to make Christmas cookies with my daughter and everyone loved them! They were nice and fluffy and tasted great! I will definetly keep this recipe around. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
They came out very well! I didn't have a rolling pin or anything, so I just rolled them and cut them out with a coffee cup. I used some orange icing, cinnamon chips, and milk chocolate chips to top them. My roommate and husband both like them a lot! It's an easy recipe to make, but the preparation took about 45 minutes to make the full batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
Ok, I apologize for this rating but I cannot give these cookies a good review with a clear conscience. These cookies tasted like flour and BORING!!! I even used cinnamon like other reviews said but they were tasteless. I like to consider myself a very good baker...maybe I just need to try these again adding more flavor or something else.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
the best sugar cookies I ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
This is a great recipe and it makes A TON of cookies! I make some buttercream frosting to put on top of them, but they're great without too. They're nice and soft, but not cakey, just right. This is by far the best sugar cookie recipe I have ever found and they are a huge hit every time I make them! My two year old niece told me they're "scrumtrulescent" the girls in my dorm beg me to make them all the time! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
I used this recipe last year for Christmas and the dough is a dream to work with. The flavor from the nutmeg is more than adequate. Those who commented about a lack of flavor must have had old nutmeg. These have a beautiful texture, keep very well and improve upon aging a few hours. A perfect sugar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by good cooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I love these cookies. They are the closest I have found to the bakery style cookies. They are soft and puffy and wonderful. A lot of the reviewers complained about the flavor but I thought these had more flavor than most sugar cookies. I baked the first batch for 10 min as suggested and they flattened out and turned gooey so I added a couple minutes to the next batch and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
This recipe doesn't puff up. I made this recipe three times. The first time I follow it exactly, and it spread out. It was chewy, and had poor flavor. Then I went out and bought new flour, buttermilk, baking soda, and baking powder -- same result. On another attempt I added nearly two cups of additional flour. This time it did indeed puff up. However, the extra flour made the flavor too bread-like. I'm still searching for a recipe that will look and taste like the cookies sold at grocery store bakeries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States