Great Grandad's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
These cookies were very addicting. I had a halloween party and i made these and my friends kept eating them. They were good, i think it needs a little less nutmeg though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I might bake these cookies 4 a bake sale so I hope there as good as they all say they are!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I baked these yesterday & today they are getting RAVE reviews from coworkers. I used more nutmeg & vanilla based on some users comments that they were bland. I used butter flavored Crisco and refrigerated the dough for about an hour. Rolled it out on my Pampered Chef pie mat & it was so easy. I did have to remind myself to only roll it to 1/4 inch thick, as my usual recipes roll it thinner. Great taste, great texture. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Good cookie. A little sweet and not what I was looking for. But had good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Great recipe everyone enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I believe this recipe would be a good pizza dessert crust.Somewhere in this recipe it should say refrigerated overnight,as it is too runny.It doesn't have the taste of a sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Didn't care too much for this recipe. Not only was the dough extremely hard to work with (unless you have the time to freeze it first), but it tasted awful. I'll stick with the Sugar Cookie recipe that came with my KitchenAid mixer. Much much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
The cookies puffed up beautifully and looked great, but like some of the other reviewer said, they tasted really -blah. My blah problem wasn't floury though. I think I have some advice for that one, when the recipe says to add flour until you get the right consistency, start by adding only half a cup- or even a quarter, and add by quarter cups when you still need some. You'll find that you probably won't end up using 2 cups, maybe even less than one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
These were really good sugar cookies. I left the dough in the fridge overnight since it was difficult to work with, and ended up just flattening them with the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar. They didn't need any frosting as they were sweet enough on their own with just a little bit of sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
These cookies are the BEST! They taste exactly like Lofthouse Cookies! (they might be regional, sorry if you haven't had them) I am throwing away all of my other sugar cookie recipes for this one! Everyone I gave them to called me back to tell me how awesome they are. I didn't change a thing except I had to add more flour to roll them out...I didn't even have a rolling pin either I just patted them out with my hands and smoothed them over. Anyone who says they had a problem with the dough being sticky or bland are apparently not very good bakers and/or are .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States