Great Grandad's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Made these for halloween and topped with a buttercream frosting. They were a big hit. The nutmeg adds a great little suprise flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Sevigney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I gave it a 3 ... honestly there wasnt any flavor and once cooled ; the cookies were rock hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
If I could rate higher than 5 stars, I would. Every time I have made this recipe and brought it to work, people ask me for the recipe. It's a winner every single time! I use sour cream instead of sour milk and I really watch the flour I use. Also, you MUST roll it out think enough (I'd recommend more than 1/4 inch, but a little less than 1/2 inch). I have even halved this recipe because it makes TONS of cookies and I don't always have time to frost them all! I used Betty Crocker's Whipped frosting and it comes out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Very similar to my mom's recipe, but with nutmeg that gives these the needed holiday flavor. Don't know what the leavening did for the recipe. They were a hit with the coworkers and my kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
great cookie. rolled out easily. taste is heavenly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Engel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I love the hint of nutmeg in this recipe...makes tons of cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
the dough reminded me more of a biscuit dough. the dough is very sticky. rolling the dough was too messy. i simply flattened the dough with my hands then cut it with cookie cutters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I had high hopes for this recipe when I read the review that compared them as similar to Lofthouse Sugar Cookies. I've been looking for a cookie recipe exactly like that. I have to say that I'm disappointed in this recipe as a sugar cookie. It tasted more like a muffin top, as it had a cake like density. Not quite a cookie, really. Although it was quite delicious, it wasn't what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I love the fact that you don't need to chill this dough. They are great tasting, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Dray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
WOW! What a great cookie. They puff up beautifully. We iced some, put colored crystals on some and had some plain. We loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States