Great Grandad's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is close to my Grandmas cookies. They puffed up beautifully. I added more vanilla than recipe called for. The only problem is they do not have much flavor. I will make again but tweak it. They were not as moist as I hoped. But I know they can be tweaked. But over all not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. I had to add 4 extra cups to even make the dough roll-able and work-able. Even still it stuck to my counter and cookie cutters. After baking, they looked great. Nice and puffy, but after biting into one, they are tasteless. They taste like flour and not much else. I wasted my time on this and my ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmbartz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
The cookies puffed up exactly as promised, however they puffed up too much to hold their shape. I ended up only adding 1 more cup of flour (5 total). They tasted all right, but not like lofthouse cookies and they were missing something. I couldn't taste the nutmeg at all. I think more vanilla and substituting some butter for part of the shortening might make them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I have mixed feelings about this recipe. I did have to use all 6 cups of flour, and even then it was too sticky to roll out, so instead of adding even more flour, I just dropped the batter onto the cookie sheet with two spoons. The flavor was definitely flat, so I added 1 tbsp vanilla, 1 tbsp butter flavoring, and 1 tsp orange extract(though I think almond would be better). I must admit, after adding additional flavorings, I ate 5 of them right off of the cookie sheet (oops). I am refrigerating the rest of the dough, hoping that it will firm up so it can be rolled out. Definitely a soft, cakelike puffy cookie. Definitely a keeper, but still looking for that perfect recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Very good. You can make them without rolling out, also. Add just enough flour that they will hold their shape a little better. Drop a tablespoon of dough in a bowl of sugar. Roll in a ball and drop on paper lined pan. They bake up nice and puffy with crispy outside and soft, cakey inside. Use half butter with the shortening and add twice the amount of vanilla for richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
These cookies are average at best. The texture is great and they hold a shape for easy decoration however thats all they got going for them. The flavor is not bad its just not good either. For me they make a great way to serve frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie Tejada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
One of the best I have ever tried. I have made these about 5 times in just the last 3 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Berni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I love these cookies with the butter frosting! The recipe yields a pile of cookies, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This is a classic, basic, sugar cookie recipe. The taste is good - especially with a little extra vanilla & nutmeg, but if you don't chill the dough, they tend to loose a bit of their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMTrowbridge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Yummy and soft with a lot of flavor. I followed the recipe EXACTLY. Easy to mix and roll out. Made them a generous 1/4" thick and they baked up soft on the inside and light golden brown on the outside. I froze half the batch un-iced (cause it makes a TON), and one month later we thawed the frozen cut outs, iced them and they tasted just as good as they did last month. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFritz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States