Great-Aunt Nina's Noodles and Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I made it as soup and it's absolutely delicious! My kids loved it! I didn't use the slow cooker so we could eat sooner. The noodles were so easy, the batter was a bit sticky but I kept adding flour until it was just right. And they cooked up beautifully, didn't fall apart even on leftovers. I used chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken. Another option is to buy a rotisserie chicken, so it's already cooked, then pull the meat off and add it in the last step when putting everything together. I recommend this soup - absolutely delicious. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This is the closest recipe I've seen to my mother's standard chicken and noodles ever. The only difference when I prepare it myself is to add a little more basil, some thyme and a bay leaf to the slow cooking chicken. This is the ultimate comfort food, and much heartier than your plain ol' chicken noodle soup. In my family, we serve it up nice and thick, over buttery mashed potatoes. Mmmm...I'm hungry for it just thinking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Delicious! The only change I made was that I used store-bought noodles instead of making my own since I was short on time. This will be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made one modification to this wonderful recipe, which is similar to one of our "old" family favorites. Rather than use a whole chicken, which must be de-boned, I use boneless and skinless chicken breasts and thighs. If you are in a hurry, you may partially freeze them and then easily cut them prior to cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I loved this because it was so easy. Added canned mushrooms and frozen peas during while the noodles boiled, used store-bought egg noodles and the addition of lots of spices at the end made it delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I made this thinking it was going to be similar to the my traditional beef and noodles that I enjoyed as a child. It turned out to be more like a soup than Chicken and Noodles. It was very good but not what I anticpated. I'll be reducing the fluids next time or cutting the onion a bit differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Graff, Ohio, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I MADE THIS AS WRITTEN EXCEPT HAD TO SUB TOMATO/CHICKEN BROTH FOR THE CHICKEN BROTH. VERY TASTY!! My husband is the soup/stew MASTER! Really -everyting he cooks up is amazing and all from scratch. This was a great way to compete with him!! Thanks for a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This is delicious! I cook it whenever a family member or friend is sick and they love it. I did have to add a little more chicken broth to make it more soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This was a great recipe. I used pheasant instead of chicken. We now have a favorite after the boys go hunting. I do think that there should have been more noodles. T think that I will double the noodle recipe next time. I also used more flour and need to lay them out separately after I cut them. They all stuck together while they were drying. Still a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I added freash new season corriander and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States