Great-Aunt Nina's Noodles and Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is an easy, forgiving, and delicious recipe. My husband and I loved it! The broth is very tasty and simple. I forgot to make the noodles ahead of time(really, they're dumplings), but they were fine. I used butter to grease the cutting board. I had to add a lot more flour than called for, but just kept adding till the dough it was workable. Maybe because eggs are bigger these days than in Aunt Nina's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made one modification to this wonderful recipe, which is similar to one of our "old" family favorites. Rather than use a whole chicken, which must be de-boned, I use boneless and skinless chicken breasts and thighs. If you are in a hurry, you may partially freeze them and then easily cut them prior to cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
No tins of condensed soup to add - that is so refreshing! Lovely recipe - worked well and will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I loved this because it was so easy. Added canned mushrooms and frozen peas during while the noodles boiled, used store-bought egg noodles and the addition of lots of spices at the end made it delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I MADE THIS AS WRITTEN EXCEPT HAD TO SUB TOMATO/CHICKEN BROTH FOR THE CHICKEN BROTH. VERY TASTY!! My husband is the soup/stew MASTER! Really -everyting he cooks up is amazing and all from scratch. This was a great way to compete with him!! Thanks for a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I added freash new season corriander and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This was a great recipe. I used pheasant instead of chicken. We now have a favorite after the boys go hunting. I do think that there should have been more noodles. T think that I will double the noodle recipe next time. I also used more flour and need to lay them out separately after I cut them. They all stuck together while they were drying. Still a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This is delicious! I cook it whenever a family member or friend is sick and they love it. I did have to add a little more chicken broth to make it more soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I made this thinking it was going to be similar to the my traditional beef and noodles that I enjoyed as a child. It turned out to be more like a soup than Chicken and Noodles. It was very good but not what I anticpated. I'll be reducing the fluids next time or cutting the onion a bit differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Graff, Ohio, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I made it as soup and it's absolutely delicious! My kids loved it! I didn't use the slow cooker so we could eat sooner. The noodles were so easy, the batter was a bit sticky but I kept adding flour until it was just right. And they cooked up beautifully, didn't fall apart even on leftovers. I used chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken. Another option is to buy a rotisserie chicken, so it's already cooked, then pull the meat off and add it in the last step when putting everything together. I recommend this soup - absolutely delicious. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States