Great-Aunt Nina's Noodles and Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I used dried noodles, because making my own sounds like too much hard work, what with 5 kiddies to cook for! But I have to agree with another review that the end result was quite bland, and we had to pep it up with salt/seasoning. I will stick with my good old favourite chicken & vegetable noodle soup recipe, and won't make this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was good and I loved making homemade noodles (I've never done that before). I also enjoyed using the whole chicken. That gives such nice flavor. I think I would probably not make this again. It was quite a bit a work for the end product. Like I said, it was good but really just not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet_firefly
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This recipe is excellent and very easy. I used a whole chicken and removed the meat from the bones while I was cooking my noodles (I cheated and used dried egg noodles). It really didn't take much longer to do it this way, and it's cheaper too. I also added peas per another review, as well as an extra carrot. Next time I will reduce the number of onions and maybe add a bay leaf to the crockpot. Otherwise, this recipe is spot on. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_firefly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
My 16 year old who is extremely picky reluntantly tried and loved it. The noodles were what really enticed him. I did have to use quite a bit more flour than recipe called for (almost 2x). And, I waited until only about 1 hour prior to eating to make noodles so I put them in the oven on warm for about 20 minutes, flipped them and another 20 minutes and they were sufficiently dried out to cook. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
'My best soup ever' from my 11 year old & husband. I cooked it on high for 4 & low for 3. Added a slash more wine at the beginning. I used store bought noodles. I only had 4 small cans of stock....it could have used more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I was a little disappointed in this recipe considering all the glowing reviews. I found it to be a very bland, hearty chicken soup. After I had cooked the noodles (I used packaged egg noodles as opposed to making my own), and added the veggies and chicken, I tasted it and found it very lacking. I added more salt and pepper, garlic powder and thyme. These additions helped, but not enough. I think the recipe needs more veggies too. If I made it again, I'd double the carrots. I added about 1 c. of peas when I added the chicken to the broth. We have plenty of leftover which I'm sure we'll eat, but I'm not sure I'd need to make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I used more carrots, less chicken, and rice rather than noodles. You might think I didn't even use the recipe at all, but I think I got an idea of how the recipe is supposed to taste. The family liked but didn't love the chicken and rice, and I will probably make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Excellent recipe! I followed exactly with the exception of adding a garlic clove. I had trouble making the noodles as directed and had to keep adding flour. (It was my 1st time making noodles.) Next time I'll know to use lots more flour and roll them out on a floured board. Thank you for the recipe Diana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Great recipe! Simple and easy to follow directions. I doubled the carrots and celery and added two large potatoes(diced) and fresh garlic. I'm making this for my parents in January!!! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
The chicken turned out beautifully, I will do that again without diluting it at the end with so much broth. My noodles came out very doughy and I ended up fishing them all out of the dish before serving it. Maybe I didn't roll the dough thin enough? A nice dish that I will try (parts of) again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States