Great-Aunt Nina's Noodles and Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I was very impressed with this dish...and with myself. I actually made the homemade noodles and they were wonderful. I expected them to fall apart when I cooked them but they didn't. My entire family loved this soup -- it was wonderful!! Definately will be cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I did stick as close to this recipe as possible-making the homemade noodles (they really aren't that hard and taste so good!) but-I did sub chicken bouillion and water for the white wine and used 4 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts for the whole chicken. After the chicken cooked, I just shredded it, added it back to the crock pot with a large can of creme of chicken soup since my kids like it creamy. I also added a cup of peas because we like them. It was AWESOME fixed this way and my kids were just happy to come home and find this soup in the crock pot everytime I made it this winter-which was at least every other week. Thanks for the keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
First time making home made noodles. I think I needed to make them smaller, but the kids loved them wide & fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This recipe has been in my family for years. If your not making the noodles on your own then you are missing out. And we remove the skin from the chicken before we cook it and we also add a onion cut in half and a couple chicken bouillon cubes and of course salt and pepper. They way we serve them is on homemade mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I used dried noodles, because making my own sounds like too much hard work, what with 5 kiddies to cook for! But I have to agree with another review that the end result was quite bland, and we had to pep it up with salt/seasoning. I will stick with my good old favourite chicken & vegetable noodle soup recipe, and won't make this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was good and I loved making homemade noodles (I've never done that before). I also enjoyed using the whole chicken. That gives such nice flavor. I think I would probably not make this again. It was quite a bit a work for the end product. Like I said, it was good but really just not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet_firefly
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This recipe is excellent and very easy. I used a whole chicken and removed the meat from the bones while I was cooking my noodles (I cheated and used dried egg noodles). It really didn't take much longer to do it this way, and it's cheaper too. I also added peas per another review, as well as an extra carrot. Next time I will reduce the number of onions and maybe add a bay leaf to the crockpot. Otherwise, this recipe is spot on. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_firefly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
My 16 year old who is extremely picky reluntantly tried and loved it. The noodles were what really enticed him. I did have to use quite a bit more flour than recipe called for (almost 2x). And, I waited until only about 1 hour prior to eating to make noodles so I put them in the oven on warm for about 20 minutes, flipped them and another 20 minutes and they were sufficiently dried out to cook. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
'My best soup ever' from my 11 year old & husband. I cooked it on high for 4 & low for 3. Added a slash more wine at the beginning. I used store bought noodles. I only had 4 small cans of stock....it could have used more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I was a little disappointed in this recipe considering all the glowing reviews. I found it to be a very bland, hearty chicken soup. After I had cooked the noodles (I used packaged egg noodles as opposed to making my own), and added the veggies and chicken, I tasted it and found it very lacking. I added more salt and pepper, garlic powder and thyme. These additions helped, but not enough. I think the recipe needs more veggies too. If I made it again, I'd double the carrots. I added about 1 c. of peas when I added the chicken to the broth. We have plenty of leftover which I'm sure we'll eat, but I'm not sure I'd need to make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States