Great-Aunt Nina's Noodles and Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Made exactly as written. My family LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This is a great recipe but as I wanted this as a soup I did make a few changes. I used fresh vegetables (Celery, Onion, Carrots and Haricot Verts) Sauteed these for about 10 minutes with garlic and black pepper until just softened. I did not make the noodles due to lack of time so used mini pasta which I added to the crock-pot uncooked 2 hours before serving. Also used 6 chicken breasts and 6 cups of stock which I added to the crock pot right at the start of cooking along with 1 teaspoon basil and two bay leaves. Needed to add plenty of ground black pepper for my families tastes but this was so good and incredibly easy to make. Will certainly be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This turned out great. I used frozen noodles and also added peas & corn along with the other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Photo by SCOUTSAGIRL
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Unbelievably down-home good. The chicken stew recipe I have always sought. The only slight change I made was to add a bit of Wondra flour to thicken the end product because that was a preference I have, but otherwise, this was great. A filling, satisfying, INEXPENSIVE meal. Plenty of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is a great winter treat. I didn't change a thing, a rarity for me, and I won't in the future. I brought this to work with me for a ladies luncheon. I wish I had a camera rolling when people took that first spoonful-priceless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This recipe was phenomenal! I've never made homemade soup before, and not only was this incredibly easy but my house smelled great all day. I made it on a stormy night and the combo of shredded chicken and thick noodles warmed us right up and had the PERFECT flavor. So delicious-can't wait to make it on the next rainy evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Easy to make, but kind of boring. I was not a fan of the homemade noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Fun for the kids to help make the noodles and tasted like the old fashioned noodles my own Mom was used to in her childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auds1162

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Middletown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
One of THE best chicken noodle soups I've ever had. I was light on the salt, only because I'm not keen on overly salty foods. I also added double the carrots and celery called for in the recipe. This was the first time I made real noodles by myself! I laugh over my hesitation to do it--it really was cake. And I'll tell you, it made the soup even better! It soaked up all the lovely flavors from the soup and just was.......so heart-healing and comforting. I'm so tickled over this recipe. This will now be my new "sick soup". Thank you, Aunt Nina! NOTE: I also used my own homemade broth. I did double the broth (at least, I didn't really measure) only because I knew the noodles would soak up a bit and I wanted a souper-soup, not just noodles and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I was very impressed with this dish...and with myself. I actually made the homemade noodles and they were wonderful. I expected them to fall apart when I cooked them but they didn't. My entire family loved this soup -- it was wonderful!! Definately will be cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States