Great-Aunt Nina's Noodles and Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by SCOUTSAGIRL
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Unbelievably down-home good. The chicken stew recipe I have always sought. The only slight change I made was to add a bit of Wondra flour to thicken the end product because that was a preference I have, but otherwise, this was great. A filling, satisfying, INEXPENSIVE meal. Plenty of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is a great winter treat. I didn't change a thing, a rarity for me, and I won't in the future. I brought this to work with me for a ladies luncheon. I wish I had a camera rolling when people took that first spoonful-priceless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This recipe was phenomenal! I've never made homemade soup before, and not only was this incredibly easy but my house smelled great all day. I made it on a stormy night and the combo of shredded chicken and thick noodles warmed us right up and had the PERFECT flavor. So delicious-can't wait to make it on the next rainy evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Easy to make, but kind of boring. I was not a fan of the homemade noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Fun for the kids to help make the noodles and tasted like the old fashioned noodles my own Mom was used to in her childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auds1162

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Middletown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
One of THE best chicken noodle soups I've ever had. I was light on the salt, only because I'm not keen on overly salty foods. I also added double the carrots and celery called for in the recipe. This was the first time I made real noodles by myself! I laugh over my hesitation to do it--it really was cake. And I'll tell you, it made the soup even better! It soaked up all the lovely flavors from the soup and just was.......so heart-healing and comforting. I'm so tickled over this recipe. This will now be my new "sick soup". Thank you, Aunt Nina! NOTE: I also used my own homemade broth. I did double the broth (at least, I didn't really measure) only because I knew the noodles would soak up a bit and I wanted a souper-soup, not just noodles and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I was very impressed with this dish...and with myself. I actually made the homemade noodles and they were wonderful. I expected them to fall apart when I cooked them but they didn't. My entire family loved this soup -- it was wonderful!! Definately will be cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I did stick as close to this recipe as possible-making the homemade noodles (they really aren't that hard and taste so good!) but-I did sub chicken bouillion and water for the white wine and used 4 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts for the whole chicken. After the chicken cooked, I just shredded it, added it back to the crock pot with a large can of creme of chicken soup since my kids like it creamy. I also added a cup of peas because we like them. It was AWESOME fixed this way and my kids were just happy to come home and find this soup in the crock pot everytime I made it this winter-which was at least every other week. Thanks for the keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
First time making home made noodles. I think I needed to make them smaller, but the kids loved them wide & fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This recipe has been in my family for years. If your not making the noodles on your own then you are missing out. And we remove the skin from the chicken before we cook it and we also add a onion cut in half and a couple chicken bouillon cubes and of course salt and pepper. They way we serve them is on homemade mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States