Great-Aunt Nina's Noodles and Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I've made this several times & it's divine. To simplify things I substituted boneless skinless chicken breasts for the whole chicken (I hate the mess of removing the chicken from the slow cooker & picking it off the bones). This was also my first attempt at homemade noodles, they were easier to make than expected, they turned out great & they are very much worth the effort. I tried it once using some good quality packaged noodles but they couldn't compare so I went back to making the noodles as called for in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Sooooo good! And easy to make! My one year old daughter LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
It turned out bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I have been making this for years, it is comforting and takes time to make. My dear husband now gets upset when I try to short cut with dried egg noodles! He has become quite partial to the noodles from this recipe. I use 2 cups of flour and canola oil instead of shortening. Also, BLSL chicken breasts have proven a little more kid friendly over the years. Do not skip the white wine and add 1 TB of rubbed sage, you won't be sorry! I hope this recipe adds comfort to your family in the same way it comforts mine. Thank you Diana (and Great Aunt Nina!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
My family wants this dish again and I live with the pickiest eaters in the world!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I have made this dozens of times & it's in my standard meal rotation. The step of making the noodles is worth the time...they are the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Made exactly as written. My family LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This is a great recipe but as I wanted this as a soup I did make a few changes. I used fresh vegetables (Celery, Onion, Carrots and Haricot Verts) Sauteed these for about 10 minutes with garlic and black pepper until just softened. I did not make the noodles due to lack of time so used mini pasta which I added to the crock-pot uncooked 2 hours before serving. Also used 6 chicken breasts and 6 cups of stock which I added to the crock pot right at the start of cooking along with 1 teaspoon basil and two bay leaves. Needed to add plenty of ground black pepper for my families tastes but this was so good and incredibly easy to make. Will certainly be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This turned out great. I used frozen noodles and also added peas & corn along with the other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Photo by SCOUTSAGIRL
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Unbelievably down-home good. The chicken stew recipe I have always sought. The only slight change I made was to add a bit of Wondra flour to thicken the end product because that was a preference I have, but otherwise, this was great. A filling, satisfying, INEXPENSIVE meal. Plenty of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States