Grated Potato Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I have been wanting these for years. But never had a recipe. My wife never heard of them. I loved these when I was a child.But if I wanted them my mom made me grate the potatoes. It was worth it. I got the left overs to fry in butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Oh wow! This is exactly how my family makes dumplings. We serve them every New Years day with braised red cabbage, sauerkraut, caraway pork roast and gravy. Other recipes I've seen always call for eggs or mashed potatoes. They don't know what they are missing with these things :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Sounds a lot like a family recipe I've tried to replicate. Saw my elders do it once. They grated potatoes added wheat flour and rye and put a cube of salt pork in the middle. They added the flour until the ball wouldn't seep through their fingers and then put in a broth they made with salted lambs breast. My husband jokes it looks like wallpaper paste which it does. We called this Kumpa. Never saw this any recipes. It is Norwegian based. Any body know the full recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This recipe popped up by searching a dish my friends Ma used to make called ruskaballs.The potatos were ground in a meat grinder and cream of tartar was involved and the taters werent drained.Salt pork or bacon was stuck in the middle of the balls and then boiled.They were cabbage roll size and really dense.They were of Norwegian descent.Tried this one with added egg and the bacon and bigger they were good.If anybody knows about the ruskaball name Ive always been curious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
My mom used to make these using grated potatoes, onion, egg, dried bread cubed, parsley, salt and pepper and flour. I have tried several times to duplicate, but altho the taste was there, they fell apart in the boiling water. Why?? If anyone has an answer I would appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This recipe is very similar to my Father-inlaw's recipe. He would grate the potato on the finest grater (I use a food processor). He also added an egg to hold it together. He would add just enough flour to keep it from running, salt & pepper, and than he would scoop it with a knife into boiling water. He would only boil them for a couple of minutes, and then drain. We usually had these fried with sauerkraut, but it is also good fried in butter or bacon fat & onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This recipe has been in my family for years as well. We would fry bacon until it was very crisp and could be crumbled for adding tot he cooked demplings along with shredded cheddar cheese. We would use some of the hot bacon grease to mix the cheese and bacon bits in the dumplings. Very fattening but FABULOUS!! Our dough recipe called for an egg and to get the dumplings right you need to get the right texture to the dough before boiling. Its also important to drain the water off the grated potatoes. We would use the same size of grating that we used for potatoe pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This has been a tradition in our family for years. I was taught how to make them and do not use a recipe. I never squeeze or drain the excess water. Just add salt and water until it is a dough like consistency. We used cubed ham, formed the dough around it and sealed them up prior to boiling. We would cut them up, slather with butter and serve sauerkraut on the side. We love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pine City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
These turned out great. I used 8 small potatoes and 1 3/4 C of flour and 1 1/2 tsp of salt. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Yummy, just like my grandma made. She would strain the grated potatoes and at the bottom of the liquid is a layer of starch that you can put back into the potatoes to make them hold together better. She would then fry the dumplings in bacon, onions and lots of marjoram. The best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States