Grapefruit Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I loved this! I followed what a few others had posted and used 6 tablespoons of grapefruit juice. I also made my frosting with grapefruit juice, cream cheese, vanilla, and powdered sugar. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
My hubby loved these. I think though that the cooking time was a little off. At 30 minutes I checked and the middle was still very jiggly. I had to give them an additional 10 minutes. I decorated them with the "Really Good Frosting" recipe from this site. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Really nice base, but I'm not liking the grapfruit in it. I ended up substituting some applesauce for shortening (1/2 C Apple, 1/4C Shortening) I also added some of the pulp. Maybe I put too much grapefruit flavor to it. Cake came out beautifully moist and fluffy with a nice crunch to the top. I also used an 8x8 pan and lowered the temp to 325 and baked for probably double time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
These were surprisingly interesting. I took the suggestion of others and doubled the grapefruit juice. The batter was quite lumpy (which had me worried) but the "bars" (I would call them cake) came out extremely moist and yummy, with no lumps. I am also going to make a grapefruit frosting (grapefruit juice, cream cheese, powdered sugar, vanilla, milk) to put on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This recipe is fantastic, and thanks to other reviews, I did make some changes, although the biggest change was due to only having 1 egg in the house . I doubled the juice and zest and used butter, not shortening; then I cut the flour to 1 1/2 cups, cut the soda to 1/2 tsp., just a sprinkle of salt (because the butter was salted), and used 1 tsp. ginger. Baked them in a 6x10 pan for about 20 minutes, testing with a toothpick. They turned out totally perfect; and the ginger, in my opinion, is a much better complement than cinnamon. A nice, clean taste that showcases the grapefruit-ginger combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Tasty but not what expected. It was more of a cake than a bar or brownie. I also had to double the cook time as well as the grapefruit juice. I used grapefruit juice and powdered sugar for the frosting, and still didn't get much of a grapefruit flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Tasty, but there wasn't much of a grapefruit flavor even with an entire grapefruit in the batter and another one as icing on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I had a grapefruit that I needed something to do with and this was so easy to make. Pretty tasty, next time I'll probably double the juice and zest for a bigger kick. I used powdered sugar and juice for a thin icing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. I will never make them again they have an awful raw taste to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momto2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
These cake bars are very good. I used the zest of a whole grapefruit, but the grapefruit flavor was still very subtle. To add a bit more, I took the suggestion of another reviewer and made an icing for the cake out of additional grapefruit juice and powdered sugar. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States