Grape Sherbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I made this sherbet twice in a week. That's how good it is! The grape juice gives it a very refreshing taste. I did cut the sugar back to 2 cups, because sweetened condensed milk is already super-sweet. I also used lemon juice from the plastic lemons you get at the grocery store, because real lemons are expensive here at the moment. When you take the sherbet out of your ice cream machine, don't be disappointed if it seems not to have thickened as much as regular ice cream. Once the sherbet is completely frozen in your freezer (cured), then it has a fabulous texture, and the taste improves as well. Really excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This recipe should have won first place in the ice cream contest because it's a winner. This recipe has great taste and my family loves it. The flavor is better after it sets up and then it is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
I tried this recipe out of curiousity; I wasn't sure what it would taste like. It turned out to be very delicious, a nice balance of fruity and creamy. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Great recipe. Easy to make. I've substituted multiple other juices for the grape juice and it's turned out quite well. My favorite? Pomegranate. I just tried acai and it worked nicely, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This sherbet was incredible--the texture is rich and creamy; the flavor superb! Since Welch's Concord Grape 100% juice is very sweet on its own, I reduced the sugar by 1 cup. It was still sweet and had a gorgeous purple hue! (Someone also commented the sugar didn't dissolve so I mixed it with the grape juice before adding everything else--dissolved beautifully.) Our family is ice cream crazy and I'm the designated maker. I enjoy trying new recipes (Six 3's from this site is also excellent) and this one is definitely a keeper. We had this for our Father's Day get-together with rave reviews. Dad even suggested I quit experimenting (especially after a fresh mint/ chocolate chip disaster from another website the previous weekend!) & just stick with this one because it was the best! I'm looking forward to trying other fruit juices as another reviewer suggested. Thanks Tina for sharing a scrumptious refreshing treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I made a gallon of this at a huge ice cream social, and it was the only one with none left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plantgirl33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This is so good. I could've eaten it all myself. Everybody loved it. I will make this again. I used a donvier 1 qt ice cream maker so I had to cut the recipe and didnt need to use any milk as it was full enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
Ummm...this is so very delicious. I made it last year quite a bit - afraid I would burn everyone out on it - Not so! It's a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Every Sunday, our daughter & her family have dinner with us. We have a grandson that is 10 years old & a granddaughter who is 8 years old. Today, I made this wonderful sherbet for dessert & they both loved it. My ice cream machine makes 1 to 1 1/2 qts. so I had to change the measurements. I used 1/4 can (14 oz.) sweetened condensed milk, 1/2 c. heavy cream, 3/4 c. white sugar ( my husband said I could have used a little less), 1 c. grape juice (I used Welch's Concord Grapejuice), 3/4 of the juice of 1 lemon (my lemon yielded 3 tbls. so I used 2 1/4 tbls.) and enough milk to fill to fill line. Everyone really enjoyed it. Thank you for this very refreshing dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
This is one that I had a hard time review as the kids liked it but the adults found it strange tasting. One the plus side, it was smooth and creamy with a great grape flavor. The downside was the aftertaste of the condensed milk. Not bad tasting, just weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States