Grape Sherbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Good texture, great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Good recipe the sweetened condenced milk flavor was strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This sherbet was incredible--the texture is rich and creamy; the flavor superb! Since Welch's Concord Grape 100% juice is very sweet on its own, I reduced the sugar by 1 cup. It was still sweet and had a gorgeous purple hue! (Someone also commented the sugar didn't dissolve so I mixed it with the grape juice before adding everything else--dissolved beautifully.) Our family is ice cream crazy and I'm the designated maker. I enjoy trying new recipes (Six 3's from this site is also excellent) and this one is definitely a keeper. We had this for our Father's Day get-together with rave reviews. Dad even suggested I quit experimenting (especially after a fresh mint/ chocolate chip disaster from another website the previous weekend!) & just stick with this one because it was the best! I'm looking forward to trying other fruit juices as another reviewer suggested. Thanks Tina for sharing a scrumptious refreshing treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Mine never firmed up completely, but the taste was oh so grapey and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I made a gallon of this at a huge ice cream social, and it was the only one with none left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plantgirl33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
My mom made this as her first recipe trying out her new ice cream maker. I am sorry to say, she and everyone who has tasted it was very disapointed. Even though she mixed everything well b4 pouring into the machine, while turning, the mixture separated, and left a thick white layer that stuck on the bottom of the bowl. It was sooo hard to scrape off and took such a loong time to set up! I dunno if it's the machine's fault or the recipe, but my mom was extremely disapointed. The machine, and cuisinart, is supposed to be one of the best :( . It tasted qite sour and strange. Some thought it tasted too sweet and too sour at the same time! I feel bad about the ingredients wasted. So sorry, it may have been something she did wrong, I don't know, but will she not make this again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Great recipe. Easy to make. I've substituted multiple other juices for the grape juice and it's turned out quite well. My favorite? Pomegranate. I just tried acai and it worked nicely, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Every Sunday, our daughter & her family have dinner with us. We have a grandson that is 10 years old & a granddaughter who is 8 years old. Today, I made this wonderful sherbet for dessert & they both loved it. My ice cream machine makes 1 to 1 1/2 qts. so I had to change the measurements. I used 1/4 can (14 oz.) sweetened condensed milk, 1/2 c. heavy cream, 3/4 c. white sugar ( my husband said I could have used a little less), 1 c. grape juice (I used Welch's Concord Grapejuice), 3/4 of the juice of 1 lemon (my lemon yielded 3 tbls. so I used 2 1/4 tbls.) and enough milk to fill to fill line. Everyone really enjoyed it. Thank you for this very refreshing dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
A little too sweet. Maybe omit a portion of the sugar. I think it would have been a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I used low-fat milk and it was still good. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States