Grape Leaves Aleppo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
we bought stuffed grape leaves at a store and they where pretty good but my husband wanted them with lamb so i tried this recipe and it was great. it was easy and my husband loved it. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This recipe is just like one of the several ways my mother made stuffed grape leaves. She was also born in Aleppo, Syria, and passed away last April at the age of 93. They are yummy! And a must to make out of lamb, they won't taste right with anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
Great recipe! My boyfriend is Egyptian and has been missing his mother's grape leaves for years, and he said this really hit the spot. I substituted 1/2 beef 1/2 pork instead of lamb, and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Taste even better the next day! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mr. Wonderful
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Thank you Robert! My family rented a house in the late 1950s and early 60s from a Syrian family. On rent day the lady of the house would give Moma stuffed grape leaves. I have been looking for recipe since and this seems to be it. Kind of expensive with the cup of lemon juice and lamb but worth it. Ma and I are enjoying these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
I didn't give this recipe a star rating because I changed it. I couldn't find ground lamb anywhere, so I tried a mix of ground beef and pork. This didn't work out at all and I would not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
I've used this recipe for years! Grape Leaves don't get much better than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
I made these for my boyfriend the other day...my first attempt at making one of his favorite middle eastern foods (he is Jordanian). He said that they tasted just like the ones his mom makes. In my book, this recipe garners all 5 stars! Thanks Robert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
I make almost the exact same recipe (from Lebanon), except I use cabbage leaves. I also bake it all in a casserole dish making sure to cover the rolls completely with water, lemon juice, sliced garlic, and some drops of margarine. It is so much easier than doing it on the stove. Salt all over. It is a tangy garlicky lemon flavor that I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
Finding the taste of lamb a bit bland, I use half lamb and half beef. Also I use beef broth to boil them in and place them on beef ribs. Give the ribs a really good flavor. That was a tip from my mother in law.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moore, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
Very close to the way my mother (and her mother and her mother...) made them. I substitute more allspice for the salt and pepper, use about 20 to 30 whole garlic cloves, and simmer in lemon juice (no water). The taste is bold and tart while the softened garlic cloves become a side dish on their own. Either way, a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

All about Bay Leaves

Learn about the leaves that add savory flavor to all kinds of dishes.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States