Grape Leaves Aleppo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2005
I make almost the exact same recipe (from Lebanon), except I use cabbage leaves. I also bake it all in a casserole dish making sure to cover the rolls completely with water, lemon juice, sliced garlic, and some drops of margarine. It is so much easier than doing it on the stove. Salt all over. It is a tangy garlicky lemon flavor that I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I absolutely love this recipe. For those of you who find them a little bland please read on. I am a Syrian and my grandmother taught me this recipe. Over the years I have tweeked it a little bit to my liking. Everybody raves how these are the best grape leaves they have ever had. After many many trials and errors I find this to be the best! It is even my boyfriends favorite meal. It is a rather difficult recipe that takes alot of time and effort. Good Luck!! yelah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Robert- thank you so MUCH! These are absolutely fantastic. They are tangy and PERFECT! I found that I didn't need all of the grape leaves though. I only needed about a jar and a half. If you can't find ground lamb meat, ask your butcher to grind up a lamb roast for you, or plan in advance and call some stores to see if they can order you the ground lamb. The lamb taste is essential! Look for the grape leaves in the olive aisle...they actually had them at the Safeway even though I was prepared to go to an ethnic food store for them. I will be sharing this recipe and making the dish again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
This recipe is good however not tasteful enough for my liking. Dont get me wrong, its not bad, but not one of my favorties. I make grape leaves slightly differently. I add onions, tomatoes and garlic to the stuffing and omit the lemon jouce. Also, instead of covering with water I cover them with a simple tomato sauce I make (chopped tomatoes, drop of olive oil, tsp tomato paste, little bit of water and salt are heated till tomatoes soft. when its cooled I just blits it in a blender/food processor. The tomatoes and onions give it a richer taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This recipe is just like one of the several ways my mother made stuffed grape leaves. She was also born in Aleppo, Syria, and passed away last April at the age of 93. They are yummy! And a must to make out of lamb, they won't taste right with anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Beast recipe I ever had for grape leaves. I added a little cinnamon and parsley to the mixture. Cooked in chcken broth along with the water and yes you must put a small plate on top to hold them down. Serve with with a sauce of yogurt, pured garlic and chopped cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Very close to Grandma's recipe! (She was from the southern part of Syria, while I found that Aleppo is exactly north.) I was pleased with these, and though I followed the recipe exactly, I plan to make a couple minor adjustments next time. I'm going to halve the pepper and increase the allspice by a half-teaspoon. Instead of soaking the rice, Grandma always mixed about 1/2 cup of water into the meat mixture with the dry rice. It gave some moisture for the rice to absorb, without extra prep or an overly tough middle. (She preferred her lamb ground coarsely for most flavor. Short-grain rice is also the traditional rice for stuffing grape leaves.) One more TIP is to use a smaller amount of filling, so that the raw amount is about the size of a short stubby pencil. The finished leaves will be the size of a child's marker. In this way they will be a lovely shape and you will use most of your jarred leaves. Finally, she never added garlic but I LOVED it in these! And next time I will remember to add the olives! I served with extra lemon, plain yogurt, and pita bread and thought I was back in time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I've never made grape leaves before, but this was easy and turned out very tasty! I added about a teaspoon each of dried dill weed and dried mint and it added a great flavor. Had to substitute ground beef for lamb, I think it would have been even better with lamb. I served it with Tzatziki Sauce (Yogurt and Cucumber Dip) from this website and it was a perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This is my absolute favorite recipe on Allrecipes! I have made this recipe over 20 times and it never fails. This is exactly how this Jordanian little lady used to make it for me. I tweeked it a bit...To the rice and lamb mixture, I add a ton of garlic powder. it makes the stuffed grapeleaves so fragrant. I also place extra leaves and lamb bones on the bottom so I don't have any overcooked stuffed grapeleaves sitting on the bottom of the pot. Add extra lemon and lime and garlic slivers throughout. The garlic dissolves at the end of cooking. Serve this with some side basmati rice with a pinch of cinnamon and a good homemade tzatziki sauce, your family will be begging you to make this at every gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I am half Syrian and I have been making this with my Tha-Tha (grandmother) for 25 years. We did it with ground beef because lamb wasnt readily available. Lamb is certainly the way to go! I loved the addition of the olives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

All about Bay Leaves

Learn about the leaves that add savory flavor to all kinds of dishes.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States