Grape Leaves Aleppo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
We absolutely love this recipe. We do not eat lamb so I use either ground beef or ground turkey. My family can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Very close to Grandma's recipe! (She was from the southern part of Syria, while I found that Aleppo is exactly north.) I was pleased with these, and though I followed the recipe exactly, I plan to make a couple minor adjustments next time. I'm going to halve the pepper and increase the allspice by a half-teaspoon. Instead of soaking the rice, Grandma always mixed about 1/2 cup of water into the meat mixture with the dry rice. It gave some moisture for the rice to absorb, without extra prep or an overly tough middle. (She preferred her lamb ground coarsely for most flavor. Short-grain rice is also the traditional rice for stuffing grape leaves.) One more TIP is to use a smaller amount of filling, so that the raw amount is about the size of a short stubby pencil. The finished leaves will be the size of a child's marker. In this way they will be a lovely shape and you will use most of your jarred leaves. Finally, she never added garlic but I LOVED it in these! And next time I will remember to add the olives! I served with extra lemon, plain yogurt, and pita bread and thought I was back in time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Photo by Descolada
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I'd never made anything with grape leaves before but I couldn't resist buying a jar of them because they were so pretty (Gaea brand). They were a trick to get out of the jar but after a lot of rinsing and dunking in lukewarm water they were finally separated from one another. I stacked all my rolls in a bamboo steamer, sprayed them with a little olive oil, and steamed them - it worked extremely well. I just kept adding hot water as it evaporated. I poured the lemon juice on them after they had cooked and they tasted AMAZING. Definitely worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Descolada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
VERY disappointed!!! The instructions are lacking in many ways - soak rice how long & with how much water? Also, if there is heavy stem on the grape leaf you should take it off. Since we live where you don't get Grape Leaves offered at the restaurant, I was hoping this would satisfy. The best ones I've had were from Seattle, WA. They smelt good while cooking, but lacked in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Lovely flavor! Just as I remembered. Thanks for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This recipe is close to my Situ's(grandmother). Her name was Muriam and she used cinnamon & nutmeg with the alspice-no salt or pepper(the grape leaves are salty due to the brine they are soaked in), and no garlic or kalamata olives were used. Also, when you stack them the 2nd layer should be laid the opposite way the 1st layer was laid, and so on. These are good with plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Honda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is a traditional dish in our household and a favorite among adults and children alike. Although we don't use lemon juice, but i will have to try adding it sometime. Usually we add 6 to 8 stuffed roma tomatoes to the pot of leaves, it adds the most deelish flavor ever! It's fine to substitute a high quality ground beef, especially if you are having guests whom may be apprehensive about lamb, though when we use beef we line the bottom of the pot with a few lamb steaks, so those who really love lamb get it with all the unique flavor the grape leaves impart!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taniaf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I am half Syrian and I have been making this with my Tha-Tha (grandmother) for 25 years. We did it with ground beef because lamb wasnt readily available. Lamb is certainly the way to go! I loved the addition of the olives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Ever since I tried grape leaves at a local restaurant, I have been dying to make them. I finally found a local butcher from whom I could get some ground lamb and decided to make this recipe tonight. Besides the fact that mine were slightly falling apart (the plate I used to hold them down wasn't quite big enough for the pot), they tasted EXACTLY like the ones I order at the restaurant. I followed the recipe exactly, except I cut it down to 6 servings, as 36 servings was way to many for my husband and I. I will most certainly be making them again, we both mmmmm'd and ahhhhhhh's the with every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Suggestions, the way we like to cook it, cut the water by half and substitute tomato juice or sauce. Use less lemon juice, the leave should be tart enough. We also like to add some lamb on the top of the leaves, just lay some coocked ribs across the top for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ahmad Ghosheh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

All about Bay Leaves

Learn about the leaves that add savory flavor to all kinds of dishes.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States