Grape Leaves Aleppo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I prefer cooking dolmas in tomato sauce instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cooklover
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Its my first time to do this recipe and it taste good, i add some piece of ginger and Cinnamon stick while simmering... I will do this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Fantastic - Thanks for sharing! I used Jasmine rice and omitted the olives because my husband doesn't like them. I also didn't have fresh garlic on hand - so I used a lot of organic minced garlic from a jar. Also - I used Meyer lemons instead of regular ones. I just love having a few of these for lunch - I dip them in a sauce of sour cream, cajun seasoning, and a lot of curry powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
coming from a lebanese woman, this is a great recipe! just like my Sitti's and mom's! we add a bit of cinnamon to our mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This recipe was pretty good. Not enough spice for me though. So I added: More allspice and garlic salt in the mixture (second time I made them) and they tasted much better. Also, this recipe states put a plate over the grape leaves while cooking, was a little scarred the plate would crack (I used a porcelain very thick/ microwave safe plate) and it did not crack. I left it in the pot the whole time of cooking. It is true, you do need something to hold down the rolls while boiling or the top ones (leaves) will not get tender and be discolored. Also, after my second batch was done...I dipped them in Virgin Olive Oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Almost a duplicate of Sitoo's recipe straight from Beirut. Thank you for the memory lane! We use 1:1 rice/lamb (to stretch), and the lamb is deboned/minced by hand. Bones used for stock. Also go heavier on the fresh garlic, scattering unpeeled whole cloves between layers. Sub h/m lamb stock for the water as well. Use a HEAVY bottom pot or put down a steamer basket to avoid scorching. Tradition says use "unusable" leaves to line pot but they still scorch and can ruin the flavor of the whole pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This is my absolute favorite recipe on Allrecipes! I have made this recipe over 20 times and it never fails. This is exactly how this Jordanian little lady used to make it for me. I tweeked it a bit...To the rice and lamb mixture, I add a ton of garlic powder. it makes the stuffed grapeleaves so fragrant. I also place extra leaves and lamb bones on the bottom so I don't have any overcooked stuffed grapeleaves sitting on the bottom of the pot. Add extra lemon and lime and garlic slivers throughout. The garlic dissolves at the end of cooking. Serve this with some side basmati rice with a pinch of cinnamon and a good homemade tzatziki sauce, your family will be begging you to make this at every gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I am Syrian also (Shammy), my grandmother made this all the time and now I do. Our recipe is extremely similar, however we also use bones in the bottom of the pot for added flavor. Also, they are also delicious with beef if you do not like lamb. This is a staple in my home and we have even made them to pass around at my neices wedding. The restaurant felt honored to have us share this meal with them as well. Thanks for the tip about adding olives, will have to try that next time! :) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This recipe is very delicious and very very much like the BEST grapeleaves in the world that my middle eastern aunt makes. Based on her recommendation, I am going to take down the allspice by about half next time and I am going to add some melted butter (6-8oz) to the meat and rice mixture. Also, I was very generous with the lemon juice during the cooking process. And I poured lemon on top of the leaves before serving them too. All in all, this is a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was very good...might I suggest my own Situ's variation (Latakia, Syria 1917). Line the pan with onions to prevent sticking. Top with onions as well. Substitute chicken broth for the water. Quadruple the amount on the allspice and cinnamon. double the lemon juice, bottled is ok. Serve with plain yogurt (leban) and fresh lemon slices and fresh pita bread or syrian bread, very flat pita. Adjust any ingredients for taste. Enjoy the flavor profile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

All about Bay Leaves

Learn about the leaves that add savory flavor to all kinds of dishes.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States