Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by I'm Not Stupid, I Know Tings
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I make a lot of granola and was searching for a new recipe when I stumbled on this one. It sounds so good, yet I knew after reading some of the reviews, it needs some changes. So this is what I did and it came out crunchy: Oven temp should be set at 275. The nuts should be "chopped" using food processor then combine in large mixing bowl with Old Fashioned Oats, they are more nutritious than Quick Cooking oats. Puree bananas along with chopped dates, and 1/4 cup honey together in food processor. Combine brown sugar and water and cook in microwave for about 3 minutes or until sugar is completely dissolved. To it add vanilla extract and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Mix this brown sugar syrup into oats & nuts. Then stir in the pureed banana, date & honey mixture. At this point, I added about 1/2 cup coconut, completely optional. Stir until thoroughly mixed then spread granola onto 2 large cookie sheets (I lay waxed paper on the sheets & spray with Pam for no-stick & no mess). Press granola slightly onto the sheet to clump. Place each sheet on it's own rack in the oven & rotate half way through baking time. Bake for 1-1/2 to 2 hours or until golden and crunchy, stirring occasionally. When mixture comes out of the oven, I added dried cranberries, cherries, & apple slices. When granola is completely cooled, store in airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
Absolutely wonderful. Had everyone guessing at the ingredients and eating it as a snack food. I added the sliced almonds and a cup of coconut with the oats and first mixture and toasted/dried them together and it worked well. I also added 1/4 cup of honey because of the extra ingredients and to get a pinch of honey flavor. A+++++++++ in my book and a definate keeper. What a way to use old bananas too!!! Tip don't put too muck on a pan if you want a dryer or toastier taste keep it single layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I too added coconut, almonds and 1/4 cup honey to the recipe before I cooked. I cooked it for close to three hours to get the desired crunch. I added dried apples and cherries. My kids (8,5,3,2)love it for a snack. Not too sweet and very good for them. I will make this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I love this recipe. We're never without a batch on hand! I like to substitute honey for the brown sugar but both are good. This recipe is so flexible! I also add allspice and cloves for extra flavour. If you're using the packaged dates, which are harder than fresh dates but more available, I cook them in a saucepan with about a 1/2 cup of water (or more if needed) for a few minutes until they soften. I add coconut & lots of chopped almonds as a standard. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
This is a great granola recipe. It could use a touch more brown sugar. My husband and kids ate it for their snack, right out of the container. Tip: When laying it in the pan, use your hands and squeeze with each handful. That will create nice chunks of granola. Easier for snacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This granola is one of the best that I have tried. My family loved it! It was gone in one day. Everyone was a little skeptical that the banana's would have too strong a flavor... but you didn't even know they were a key ingredient. I recommend this recipe highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This is a great granola recipe. I made my first batch a couple weeks ago and have eaten it everyday since then. I was looking for a recipe with no oil and this fit that bill. I did not use the dates because I didn't have any so I ended up using 3 bananas. Other than that, i stayed true to the recipe. I think the granola got better with time. It's not super sweet. I really don't taste the banana either. I made more today and have added extra vanilla and cinnamon to fit my tastes. This granola is just pure and wonderful. So glad it's the first recipe I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
What a great recipe and so easy too! I've been looking for a recipe that didn't include oil. This one tastes really good. Try adding in fresh fruit like peaches or berries. I added crushed pineapple and cranberries. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
I absolutely love this granola. I don't like overly sweet food, and this had just right amount of sweetness. I ended up adding much less nuts. I was also worried about molding, so I kept it in the freezer. This granola over plain yogurt was one of the few things I wanted to eat at all before my wedding. I will make it again soon. Thank you Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Excellent. I exchanged dried apricots for the dates for a lighter colored granola. For Christmas I'll add green pistachio nuts and dried cranberries. When using almonds, I substitute almond flavor for the vanilla. I think dried fruit bits are tasteless (they don't really have the flavor of the food they once were) so I add cheaper raisins after cooking, so they are not as hard as hockey pucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States