Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I add extra bananas and more spices and double the dried fruit. Then I serve them in martini glasses and top with plain vanilla yogurt, blueberries, and slivered almonds. A great brunch dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Circleville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Blacklick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Excellent recipe! I accidentally used sweetened coconut instead of plain, but it was still good, just a little sweeter. I also didn't have wheat germ so I replaced it with oat bran. I mixed this granola (about 1 Cup) with 8 oz of plain yougurt and about 1/2 cup of thawed stawberries cut up. SO GOOD! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
awesome. i cut back the nuts and added more fruit. i do think that the 250 cooking time is ok. if the temp goes higher, the granola will brown more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREGSGIRL63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Wilton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
We eat granola almost every day. This recipe is great, and low in refined sugar. We do not care for dates, so I substitute "Craisins" dried cranberries. This has become the standard for granola in our house. My teenage daughter takes a baggie of this everyday to high school. Her friends squeal with delight when she brings "That oatmeal stuff" to share! Thanks for a great, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephany Ogle Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I love this recipe. We're never without a batch on hand! I like to substitute honey for the brown sugar but both are good. This recipe is so flexible! I also add allspice and cloves for extra flavour. If you're using the packaged dates, which are harder than fresh dates but more available, I cook them in a saucepan with about a 1/2 cup of water (or more if needed) for a few minutes until they soften. I add coconut & lots of chopped almonds as a standard. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I added a little xtra honey and just a table spoon of corn syrup to make up for the extra wheat germ and oat bran I tossed in. I doubled the suggested nut and fruit amounts. Wouldnt be able to tell it was healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This is not a recipe for someone looking for sweet granola. At first, I thought adding the banana would make it taste too bananaish, but it doesn't. I stirred the granola every 7 min. for about 70 min. At the end I added slivered almonds, rasins and pecans. Also, before I baked it I added 1/4 cup of weat germ and 1/4 cup of wheat bran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I'm Not Stupid, I Know Tings
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I make a lot of granola and was searching for a new recipe when I stumbled on this one. It sounds so good, yet I knew after reading some of the reviews, it needs some changes. So this is what I did and it came out crunchy: Oven temp should be set at 275. The nuts should be "chopped" using food processor then combine in large mixing bowl with Old Fashioned Oats, they are more nutritious than Quick Cooking oats. Puree bananas along with chopped dates, and 1/4 cup honey together in food processor. Combine brown sugar and water and cook in microwave for about 3 minutes or until sugar is completely dissolved. To it add vanilla extract and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Mix this brown sugar syrup into oats & nuts. Then stir in the pureed banana, date & honey mixture. At this point, I added about 1/2 cup coconut, completely optional. Stir until thoroughly mixed then spread granola onto 2 large cookie sheets (I lay waxed paper on the sheets & spray with Pam for no-stick & no mess). Press granola slightly onto the sheet to clump. Place each sheet on it's own rack in the oven & rotate half way through baking time. Bake for 1-1/2 to 2 hours or until golden and crunchy, stirring occasionally. When mixture comes out of the oven, I added dried cranberries, cherries, & apple slices. When granola is completely cooled, store in airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Excellent! I love that there is no added fat. I also am not a big fan of nuts, so I just added dried cranberries, so that keeps the fat content even lower. Very good with soy milk for breakfast! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
This was really good granola! smells like banana bread when it's baking, but it did take longer than recipe says to get crunchy. my one roommate (who is extreeeemely picky about food) ate half the bag in one day! i added dried mixed fruit, raw chopped walnuts, slivered almonds, and sesame seeds after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States