Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Thank you Susan, this is a wonderful recipe, will never buy boxed again! I would recommend taking at least 5 minutes to mix the dry and wet ingredients together for the best texture and distribution of flavors. I also prepare it on parchment lined tins in a 250 degree convection bake oven, and stir it with a spaghetti fork, works for me. Keeps fresh and crunchy in rubbermaid containers in the freezer too. Just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I was looking for an alternative to the gourmet granolas that you find at grocery stores. This is a great recipe and it is very flexible to ammendments. I didn't use 8 full cups of the oats, as I wanted a clumpier granola. I did add a bit of maple syrup thinking that it may need a binding agent, but I am not sure that it is neccesary. The first time I made it I cooked it for 2 hours simply because everybody suggested so. The second time I only cooked it for 1 1/2 hours and it is perfect as it does dry out and harden up a bit as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catiebrooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This granola is GREAT! I toasted the almonds, added flaked coconut, dried blueberries, cranberries and apricots. My husband loves it too! The smell is even to die for. It took about 2 hours with stirring every 15 min to get crunchy. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I add extra bananas and more spices and double the dried fruit. Then I serve them in martini glasses and top with plain vanilla yogurt, blueberries, and slivered almonds. A great brunch dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Circleville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Blacklick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Excellent recipe! I accidentally used sweetened coconut instead of plain, but it was still good, just a little sweeter. I also didn't have wheat germ so I replaced it with oat bran. I mixed this granola (about 1 Cup) with 8 oz of plain yougurt and about 1/2 cup of thawed stawberries cut up. SO GOOD! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
awesome. i cut back the nuts and added more fruit. i do think that the 250 cooking time is ok. if the temp goes higher, the granola will brown more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREGSGIRL63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Wilton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
We eat granola almost every day. This recipe is great, and low in refined sugar. We do not care for dates, so I substitute "Craisins" dried cranberries. This has become the standard for granola in our house. My teenage daughter takes a baggie of this everyday to high school. Her friends squeal with delight when she brings "That oatmeal stuff" to share! Thanks for a great, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephany Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I love this recipe. We're never without a batch on hand! I like to substitute honey for the brown sugar but both are good. This recipe is so flexible! I also add allspice and cloves for extra flavour. If you're using the packaged dates, which are harder than fresh dates but more available, I cook them in a saucepan with about a 1/2 cup of water (or more if needed) for a few minutes until they soften. I add coconut & lots of chopped almonds as a standard. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I added a little xtra honey and just a table spoon of corn syrup to make up for the extra wheat germ and oat bran I tossed in. I doubled the suggested nut and fruit amounts. Wouldnt be able to tell it was healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This is not a recipe for someone looking for sweet granola. At first, I thought adding the banana would make it taste too bananaish, but it doesn't. I stirred the granola every 7 min. for about 70 min. At the end I added slivered almonds, rasins and pecans. Also, before I baked it I added 1/4 cup of weat germ and 1/4 cup of wheat bran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Breakfast Granola Cups

Edible containers of baked granola for yogurt and berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States