Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Excellent. I exchanged dried apricots for the dates for a lighter colored granola. For Christmas I'll add green pistachio nuts and dried cranberries. When using almonds, I substitute almond flavor for the vanilla. I think dried fruit bits are tasteless (they don't really have the flavor of the food they once were) so I add cheaper raisins after cooking, so they are not as hard as hockey pucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I was looking for a lowfat/no fat granola. This fits the bill! I reduced the oats and added some wheat germ which toasts nicely. It is not so sweet that it's addictive, but is very delicious as a snack or breakfast. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
GREAT!!! THE ONLY THING I DID DIFFERENT, WAS I USED SUGAR-FREE HONEY, YOU CAN'T TELL THE DIFFERENCE! BEING A DIABETIC I TRY TO DECREASE ANY AMOUNT OF SUGAR I CAN ! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is very delicious! I have been searching for a long time for an oil-free recipe that actually tastes good. This one is simple, not too sugary, but not tasteless or too much like masticating tree bark! I did add a bit more spice, cloves and ginger in addition to the cinnamon, and a bit of honey and coconut as per a few of the reviews. I like it a lot! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I have difficulty making granola. It's probably some genetic defect. I cooked this too long trying to get some crunch. It went from soggy to wooden. I found the flavors very bland. I'm for cooking with as little refined sugars as possible, but this needed more. I added honey and about 1/2 cup brown sugar and the fruit flavors perked. I clearly need some training regarding granola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ibbotson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
YUM! This is my first time making granola and it turned out great! I did add honey and wheat germ before baking and ended up adding more honey and brown sugar after it was done baking to sweeten it up a little more :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
No dates, so used total 1 c mashed bananas. Also used agave nectar instead of sugar. Not terribly flavorful - maybe needs a tsp salt. Also a bit chewy. Not my favorite granola recipe, but it used up some overripe bananas in a new way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I LOVE this granola recipe! It's easy to adjust according to what you have or what you like. I love that it uses no oil, keeping the fat content lower than traditional granola. I usually substitute organic prunes for the dates and use whole raw almonds, coarsely chopped. I add the almonds to the granola mix and bake it all together. I've made this granola many times, and every once in a while, it doesn't get dry/crunchy enough. When that happens (maybe due to humidity in the house, or water content of fruit mixture), I just re-bake it for a while the next day (or turn off the oven and leave it in there to cool, which dries it out a bit more.) Thank you for such a versatile, healthful recipe! Update: I have substituted prunes, raisins, dried cranberries, or a combination for the dates with good results. Any dried fruit would do, I think. Also, for added sweetness, I sometimes use apple juice instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Excellent! I may try just a little more brown sugar next time, other than that I wouldn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
As is I thought the granola was too soft/chewy. But good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States