Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
GREAT!!! THE ONLY THING I DID DIFFERENT, WAS I USED SUGAR-FREE HONEY, YOU CAN'T TELL THE DIFFERENCE! BEING A DIABETIC I TRY TO DECREASE ANY AMOUNT OF SUGAR I CAN ! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is very delicious! I have been searching for a long time for an oil-free recipe that actually tastes good. This one is simple, not too sugary, but not tasteless or too much like masticating tree bark! I did add a bit more spice, cloves and ginger in addition to the cinnamon, and a bit of honey and coconut as per a few of the reviews. I like it a lot! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I have difficulty making granola. It's probably some genetic defect. I cooked this too long trying to get some crunch. It went from soggy to wooden. I found the flavors very bland. I'm for cooking with as little refined sugars as possible, but this needed more. I added honey and about 1/2 cup brown sugar and the fruit flavors perked. I clearly need some training regarding granola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
YUM! This is my first time making granola and it turned out great! I did add honey and wheat germ before baking and ended up adding more honey and brown sugar after it was done baking to sweeten it up a little more :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
No dates, so used total 1 c mashed bananas. Also used agave nectar instead of sugar. Not terribly flavorful - maybe needs a tsp salt. Also a bit chewy. Not my favorite granola recipe, but it used up some overripe bananas in a new way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I LOVE this granola recipe! It's easy to adjust according to what you have or what you like. I love that it uses no oil, keeping the fat content lower than traditional granola. I usually substitute organic prunes for the dates and use whole raw almonds, coarsely chopped. I add the almonds to the granola mix and bake it all together. I've made this granola many times, and every once in a while, it doesn't get dry/crunchy enough. When that happens (maybe due to humidity in the house, or water content of fruit mixture), I just re-bake it for a while the next day (or turn off the oven and leave it in there to cool, which dries it out a bit more.) Thank you for such a versatile, healthful recipe! Update: I have substituted prunes, raisins, dried cranberries, or a combination for the dates with good results. Any dried fruit would do, I think. Also, for added sweetness, I sometimes use apple juice instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Excellent! I may try just a little more brown sugar next time, other than that I wouldn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
As is I thought the granola was too soft/chewy. But good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Awesome. This was the best breakfast change I have made to my diet. Fiber is a good thing, and this really keeps you full. I am making my second batch with just a little more cinnamon and a little more brown sugar, but the first round was right on the money, the recipe needs nothing accept tweaking to your own taste. This will be breakfast everyday for the rest of my life, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Hans

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This is a great granola recipe. I made my first batch a couple weeks ago and have eaten it everyday since then. I was looking for a recipe with no oil and this fit that bill. I did not use the dates because I didn't have any so I ended up using 3 bananas. Other than that, i stayed true to the recipe. I think the granola got better with time. It's not super sweet. I really don't taste the banana either. I made more today and have added extra vanilla and cinnamon to fit my tastes. This granola is just pure and wonderful. So glad it's the first recipe I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States