Granola Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
i usually dont leave a review when i change the recipe this much but the end product was soooooo good i just had too. i used all the same proportions given but replaced alot of ingredients. i used 1c oats, 1c granola cereal. 1/3 chia seeds. 1/4 sesame. 1/2 all bran buds. 1/4 flax seed. i used natural almond and cashew butter. and used 80% dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
These are amazingly delicious with tons of flavor and texture. My husband can't stop eating them. The only thing I did different is mix the chocolate chips in with the rest and that was just laziness on my part. It's taken years to find a perfect recipe and this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SWEETJAM
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
The jury is still out on this one. They have a nice flavor to them. The only thing I'm not sure about is the chocolate. I thought these would be the perfect snack for my husband when he hikes and bikes, but I think the chocolate topping might make them hard to manage. I followed the recipe exactly the only thing I did different is not melt the chocolate chips I just sprinkled them on top of the bars and stuck them back in the oven for a minute then spread them. One less thing to clean. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe. You have to grind the flax seeds to get the nutritional benefits from it, so I ground them in a coffee grinder. I also used crunchy peanut butter and WAY LESS chocolate chips - I used maybe a handful. I spread the chips on the top of the bars after they cooked, then popped them back in the oven so the chips would soften and melt (about five minutes). Then I used a spatula to spread the chocolate around. This is one of my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Great recipe! I eat these after a workout or while on a hike. I use a variation of dried fruit, and I use ground flax seed instead of the whole seeds. I used soy nut butter for peanut butter due to allergies, and applesauce instead of oil. Dark chocolate on the top and what a rocking bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
It was a little too sweet for my taste. The second time I cut back on the honey and added and egg white to help replace the moister and hold it together. I also suggest using flax seed meal or just grind up the flax seed or you will not digest the nutrients from the flax seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Excellent bars! I feel good giving them to my family since they have a lot of healthy ingredients. I did change it a bit to give the bars a little more protein and I will sometimes eat them after a workout. I added sliced almonds & diced pecans (in lieu of the sesame seeds and raisins), added a scoop of chocolate protein powder (optional), and rather than melting choc chips, I just mixed about 6 ounce of mini choc chips in before baking. I bake 15-20 min and they are done! Thanks for the great foundational recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVBNMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Mine fell apart when i tried to cut them up. Next time ill try adding some apple sauce or banana as a binder. The flavor is good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
We really like these... I chose this recipe because it doesn't have any flour in it, which many other granola bar recipes did have. I used agave nectar instead of honey and chopped walnuts and pecans instead of sesame seeds since that's what I had on hand, and it turned out good. These were a little crumbly, but had great flavor. I mixed about 3/4 of the chocolate chips in and spread the rest on top. Yum! I'm making again right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I used this recipe for my first time making granola/energy bars and they came out great. I made quite a few changes, such as substituting the raisins with chopped dates, currants, and adding broken-up pretzel sticks to give the bars a little crunch. I read mentions from a few reviews that the bars were too soft and unmanageable, so in response to that I made sure that the mixture was well-pressed in the pan. I also left the bars in to cook for longer than the recipe called for, about 25 mins, and this hardened them quite a bit. Still chewy, intact, and moist enough. Thanks for a great recipe! For now on, I will be making my own bars rather than buying them from the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreacooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States