Granola Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Incredibly awesome! I have made the "Playgroup Granola Bars" from this website for a few years now, and while we liked them, they were always a little too dry and crunchy for our tastes, and a few were always left to get moldy instead of eaten, which was a big waste. I didn't have oat bran, so I upped the flax to 1/2 c. or so, and I ground it in a coffee grinder (you have to grind flax to get the nutrients from it). I buy sesame seeds in bulk, so I dry toasted my own in a skillet till they started making a "pop" noise. I was out of raisins and only had crunchy peanut butter on hand. My only other change was that I bought peanut butter/chocolate swirl chips in the baking aisle and just threw them in with the rest of the ingredients, rather than coating the top with chocolate. I wanted something my hubby could take on the go with him, leave in the car, etc. without melting all over everything. All that said, I am still stuffed from dinner, but I wander over to the counter every 10-15 minutes to snitch another crumb because these are just so good. My boys are going to love these, and I won't return to the other recipe ever again (sorry ol' Playgroup! You were a faithful friend... till now). I love all the healthy grains, and that my boys are getting some good protein and fats from REAL butter and peanut butter. Easily edited to incorporate any of our favorite dried fruits or grains - we will be making many variations of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
my first attempt at making granola bars and i didn't enjoy making this one. it's way too crumbly and i ended up having a lot of granola instead. taste is good but a little too peanut buttery for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Great recipe! I eat these after a workout or while on a hike. I use a variation of dried fruit, and I use ground flax seed instead of the whole seeds. I used soy nut butter for peanut butter due to allergies, and applesauce instead of oil. Dark chocolate on the top and what a rocking bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Great recipe--very filling and delicious! I substituted chocolate and white chips for the raisins because I made them for someone who doesn't like raisins, and they were amazing. I've since made them with blueberry-flavored dried cranberries with white chocolate on top, and I can't wait to try them. They're the perfect snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Center, Iowa, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
A MUCH easier and quicker way to make granola bars over my other favorite recipe--bird seed energy bars. I ran out of peanut butter so I used honey, and I am SO glad that I did. I couldn't imagine using that much peanut butter. Also, you will definitely want some tea or coffee to eat with this. Perfect for the drive into work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Runner2008
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Five stars exactly as written. Thank you RATHBUN. To adapt for a friend who needed gluten-free, peanut-free, soy-free, I left out the wheat germ, used oats and oat bran from a gluten-free facility, substituted tahini for peanut butter, added almonds and applesauce, and cut the honey in half. Melted a soy-free dark chocolate bar for the topping. My friend, my husband, and I all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
It was a little too sweet for my taste. The second time I cut back on the honey and added and egg white to help replace the moister and hold it together. I also suggest using flax seed meal or just grind up the flax seed or you will not digest the nutrients from the flax seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Very good flavor, but I agree that they are a bit on the crumbly side. They're still worth it, but next time I'll try adding a banana as a binder, as suggested. The kids LOVE them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Kind of expensive once you get all of the ingredients, but SO worth it!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Delicious! I don't cover them with chocolate. They are still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States