Granola Blondies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Oh my god. Everything positive in the reviews is true. I used 1/2c cranberries and 1/2c chocolate chips instead of a whole cup of cranberries and they were divine. Also took KitchenWitch's suggestions on cutting the sugar down and the 2 whole eggs. DEFINITELY making again, and getting creative with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnatus, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I liked this a lot as a base recipe to tinker with. This is/can be a great quick morning breakfast. Like others, I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup, used 2 whole eggs and left out the cranberries (only 'cause I didn't have any) and it came out fine. I only wish I had put it in a 9x13 pan instead of the 9in square. They were a bit too thick (over 1 inch) for my liking. Next time I think I will tweak it to add more/varying flavors - maybe cinnamon and chopped apples or mini chocolate chips and dried cherries... This recipe is a keeper to customize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margee Mason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Delicious. I think that the taste of these blondies will greatly depend on the flavour and quality of the granola you use. I used a cinnamon apple granola that also had craisins in it, so instead of adding more dried fruit I added white chocolate chips, with great success! I also subbed about 3/4 of the oil with unsweeetened applesauce. I baked these as little two-bite blondies in a mini-muffin tin. They do end up a little dry on top, but the crispy-crunchiness is expected from the granola anyway. I have made these twice already and will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Love these! Followed others advice to use 2 eggs & only 3/4 c. sugar & were plenty sweet with dried cranberries & white chocolate chips. Made a 2nd batch with canned pumpkin & spices instead of oil - used 1 c quick oats I ground into flour & 1 c granola - and Peanut Butter to hold together - with cranberries & white chips. Also added ground flax, pumpkin seeds & hemp seeds and used 2 T molasses with 1/2 c brown sugar. Getting ready to make one with apricots & chocolate chips. Great lunchbox snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Very easy to make & tastes great! Have made twice so far; definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Everyone loved these! I used up some of a giant batch of homemade granola and pressed the dough onto a baking sheet. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Wonderful! I make goodies for my baristas, and they love this one! But I also put in chocolate chips in place of 1C of the cranberries...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I searched for a recipe to get rid of some chocolate granola that no one in our family liked. I used a cup of chocolate chips instead of the cherries and following the advice of other reviewers, I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup and used two whole eggs instead of one egg and an egg white. After all those changes I still decided to review the recipe because I was very pleased that this recipe was so forgiving of my changes. The bars were easy to make, held together and tasted great. I think that this recipe will vary in taste and texture quite a bit depending on the type of granola you use. I used BareNaked Granola which is a softer granola. I would like to try these with crunchier granola and with the cherries. Still the bars I made were delicious and I must say that the chocolate chips worked well in place of the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Followed KitchenWitch's review. These were terrific! The 9x13 pan was empty in less that 48 hrs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I followed KitchenWitch's suggestions and I think they came out really good. I really liked the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States