Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ms.krstn
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
I will definitely make this again and again. Made according the directions so I know what the base recipe is supposed to be like, then made them my own way. My favorite is to add peanuts and raisins or cranberries then double the recipe, flatten half the mixture in a pan, spread the top with peanut butter, and then top with the second half of the mixture. Biggest issue I had/have is they're really crumbly and once finished and cut, all the pieces don't stay in a bar form. I kind of suspect this has to do with the quality of my honey and peanut butter. Both of which are fresh and have no added ingredients. (Honey is bought locally and peanut butter is either fresh made or one of those organic ones that only contain peanuts (and maybe salt) and needs to have the oil stirred in). Without the extra sugars and whatever's my sauce isn't quite as sticky as friends who have made the same recipe. But the crumbs are absolutely wonderful on a grilled peach topped with yogurt/ice cream/creamed banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
I made these and added a little extra honey and peanut butter to see if it would help hold it together. It held together pretty well, but it was a bit crumbly. I also added some prunes and pumpkin seeds. It was extremely sweet and I didn't add a ton of extra honey. In the end it kind of tasted like peanut butter cookies, but they were pretty good. I cut the baking time down as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
came out great, added many extras like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Just made this receipe and I haven't tasted it yet. But it looks delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
The coconut in the back of my pan was burned at 10 min, so I need to toast less and probably turn my tray. Otherwise, these were great. I added 1 tbsp of chia seeds in place of a bit of oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I microwaved the honey, peanut butter, vanilla mixture for about a minute and it did the trick (while the coconut and oats were toasting- 10 minutes is accurate for coconut, oats could use a little longer). After combining all the ingredients I added 1/4 cup mini chocolate chips, then baked 10 minutes. They were undercooked and goopy to the point I couldn't take it out of the pan, but after cooling it hardened and stuck together (I was aiming for chewy). I reshaped the bars after cutting, wrapped them individually in wax paper, then stuck them in the fridge. I didn't really follow the instructions of the recipe, but I give it 5 stars for balance, simple everyday ingredients, and ease of cooking. Not too much peanut butter, not a strong honey taste, just a good chewy oat bar! My picky 4yo keeps asking me to make more- next time I'll double the batch and keep everything the same!! Thanks for the recipe! Might also be good with 1/4 cup cherry Craisins if you're looking for an extra something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWMama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Doubled the recipe and added Cacao nibs, 1 cup walnuts as well as 2 scoops powdered protein. Added an extra 1/2 C. Almond butter....put in 13x9 baking dish...AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Super easy and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
It came out a crumbly mess, couldn't cut them. Tastes great, though and I'll use it to sprinkle on yogurt. I'll try again after I brush off my ego. This time I'll follow the recipe exactly, and if it comes out better I'll up my rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Westfield, New Jersey, USA
Photo by KathleenBurgess
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
This recipe is great!! I wanted chewy bars so i cooked them for 7 minutes instead of 15! They taste great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States