Granola Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I will give this recipe 5 stars even though i tweaked it a bit because of my liking and forgetfulness because this recipe is really versatile so anyone can mold this into their favorite recipe. My first personal mistake was forgetting the oats. I have cinnamon raisin granola on hand so thats what i used. Instead of raisins i used blueberry craisins(a plus for this recipe!), my store didnt have wheat germ so i just skipped that all together, and lastely i used coctail peanuts with sea salt because we dont like walnuts. I baked it on a 11x13 baking sheet(with a edge to it) and to keep the thickness i wanted i had about 3 1/2 inches left on one side. That empty space spread that edge thinner and made that very edge crunchy(not a big deal, thats what i munched on while packing these up). Overall this is a very good recipe considering my substitutions. My 4 and 1 year old kept wanting more and more! Thanks for this recipe. Oh and i'll mention that i guesstimated on the brown sugar part which was ABOUT 2/3 cups and it wasn't too sweet at all, just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Very Good! I replaced half of the oil with apple sauce as another suggested. I also cut the brown sugar to 1/2 c and that was plenty. Used choc. chips, raisins and cranberries as I wanted them to be nut free for school. Very easy to make. Will be making them all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was really simple for me to make in the morning before my oldest went to school. I made a couple substitutions because I had to use what was on hand. I used whole wheat flour, I cut the brown sugar down to a quarter cup, I used homemade pumpkin pie spice and homemade low-sugar maple syrup instead of honey. I also used Craisins instead of raisins. These smelled off the charts yummy even before baking and my older boy was so pleased, he said "Wow, Mom....you made those for me?" I cut them into bars and wrapped them individually for each daily lunch. I don't know why I ever bought granola bars, since this is so much more healthy than the store bought, nevermind easier. Next time, I'd like to try another dried fruit and perhaps pecans. I'm glad I cut the sugar back, I think it would have been WAY too sweet if I hadn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Finally I have found a great granola bar recipe!! The others don't even come close to this one. It's totally versatile, and you can make it as healthy or unhealthy as you like. I reduced the sugar to 1/4c as others did, and they were perfect! I also substituted applesauce for 1/2 of the oil, and even substituted flax seed meal for 1/2 of the remaining oil. They rocked! Can't wait to experiment with more ingredients! Now, if you're looking for a recipe to make crunchy granola bars, this is not it. But for the soft, moist ones, this is the perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SmileChicago
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I pulled these out of my bag in the middle of a 40 mile mountain bike ride. They revived us and one rider even exclaimed, "These are the best granola bars I have ever eaten!" I did make a few minor changes. I added flax instead of wheat germ. I added a bunch of different types of nuts, chopped well. Instead of raisins, I added a variety of dried fruits like cranberries and mango. I also added some chocolate chips. I love how versatile this recipe is. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmileChicago
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I thought they were going to be too sweet with all the sugar and honey, and raisins (and I added choc chips) but they were actually too bland. The texture was not that of a granola bar, for sure. We did not enjoy these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Easy, tasty and healthy. What else could you ask for in a recipe?! I am very happy with the way they turned out and I hope my 2 year old will like them! To spread the mixture in the pan, I put a sheet of waxed paper over the mixture and used my hands to smooth out the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I think what is missing from this recipe is baking or toasting the oats and coconut (and sunflower seeds if you so desire). I also found the addition of the egg a little odd and was not very impressed with the way mine turned out. To try and salvage them, I dunked them in melted bark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Great granola bar! Just the chewy-yet-holds-together snack we were looking for! I cut the brown sugar down to just a little over 1/4C, substituted sunflower kernels and some shredded coconut for the nuts (hubby's allergic), and didn't have honey so I used brown rice syrup instead. Sugar could probably even be reduced further. Baked 25 minutes and they were excellent! I can see taking this recipe in MANY new directions playing with mix-ins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
My kids love Granola bars and I buy at least box a week at my local heath food store $4.49 for 10 bars. I was able to make my own with items from the bulk bins and stuff in my cupboard for $3.29 for 27 bars. The best part is I can pronounce everything in them and they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States