Granola Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I have made these "as is" and they've turned out great. I recently made them with the following changes and they turned out even better than 5 stars! Changes: used 2 eggs for a chewier granola, used 1/2 the honey and 1/2 the sugar called for, cooked at 330 degrees until slightly browned on the edges and score as soon as take them out of the oven. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENCHISPAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I haven't tried as posted but tried the suggestions of SIXMITTS...most excellent. No raisins because I don't like them. Used pumpkin seeds instead of walnuts and subbed some ground flax seed for the wheat germ. If you use dried fruit, you could cut back on the sugar even more. Really versatile. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I've made many, many granola bar recipes searching for the perfect one... so far, this is the best recipe I've tried!!! I really like raisins, chocolate chips and pecans, but the combination possibilities are endless! I also use half applesauce/half oil instead of all oil. Adding an extra egg seems to help hold it all together if you have trouble with crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
These are pretty average. They tasted a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Made this with my students before a field trip. It did the trick and kept everyone full. We made three variations- plain, raisin, and blueberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kemmerer, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
very good bars. i used a bag of mixed trail mix( cranberry, raisins, chocolate chips,peanuts and walnuts) they were so goood!! i halved both the honey and brown sugar and they were plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyhousewife7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Wow! I was encouraged by other reviewers to make this recipe to my tastes, so I did. I used applesauce for 1/2 the oil, used dried cranberries (for raisins) and pecans (for walnuts), substituted whole wheat pastry flour, used only 1/3 cup brown sugar, threw in some raw peanuts and replaced some of the wheat germ with milk powder and some of the honey with crunchy peanut butter. I had a feeling this recipe would work anyway, and it really did. Very yummy! Mine cooked about 27 minutes on parchment paper. Buttered hands helped to spread the batter and make sure it was pressed together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Great Granola bars and easy to make. I only put in 1/2 cup brown sugar. I probably could have put even less in. But very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
These have a great texture. I cut the sugar in half and substituted rice cereal, sunflower seeds and flax for the walnuts and weat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deet31483

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These are quite good. I substitute 1/3 cup all-purpose flour, 1/3 cup whole wheat flour, and 1/3 cup almond meal for the 1 cup of flour. My favorite combo is craisins, slivered almonds, and white chocolate chips. Perfect to take to work for lunch. My only problem is that sometimes I can't wait until lunch to eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States