Granola Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This recipe was very good. I added cranraisins, peanut butter. This recipe was very good. I will make it again.!!! I like this recipe because you can add whatever you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
We love this recipe! We will never purchase granola bars from a store again. I replaced the egg with Ener-G Egg Replacer, and it worked great. Ener-G is a great egg alternative in baking for vegans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
My son has Type 1 diabetes so I try to use Stevia in place of sugar for making his snacks. Well, it came out great! This is what I used: 2c. long cooking oats, 1c. freshly milled wheat flour, a little less than 2 Tbs. of Stevia powder, 1c.raisens, 1/2c. Wheat Germ, 1/2 tsp.sea salt, 1 tsp.cinnamon, 1/2c.pecans, 2/3c.Coconut Oil, 1/2c.Honey, 1 whole egg and 2tsp vanilla extract. He loves them and so do we! I will add some extras next time to try to give him a little variations. I did use a lot of suggestions from other reviewers and felt like I made a successful granola bar. I baked mine in a 9x13 stone (bar pan), they came out thin and more like a nature valley granola bar-crunchy but not TOO crunchy. I used parchement paper for a liner. Awesome recipe and I will be making this a lot for sure! Thanks for recipe and all of the suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
These were VERY easy to make, and taste great! Much better than the store-bought bars. They are a *touch too sweet for my taste, so I may reduce the brown sugar to 1/2 cup next time. I left out the nuts (personal preference) and didn't have wheat germ, so I smashed up some Grape-Nuts cereal in its place. I cut them with a pizza cutter while they were still warm, made it very easy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Very good!!! I had no problem with these holding together and the texture is perfect. I did reduce the brown sugar to 1/2 cup per one reviewer's suggestion and substituted pecans for the walnuts (I'm allergic to walnuts...). Overall, a recipe I'll use again and again to avoid the high cost of prepackaged bars and the preservatives in them. I do plan to experiment with chocolate chips, dried fruit, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This recipe has endless variations. I took the suggestions of several other of the reviewers and adjusted the honey, oil, etc. Overall it was okay. It is definitely worth a try. I always use my kids to guage the success of a recipe. They weren't too crazy about this one. I liked it though if that counts:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I really like this recipe. Very easy and a healthy alternative to store-bought granola bars! Instead of wheat germ I used Ground Flax Seed and Hemp Hearts and Craisins in place of raisins as well as almonds instead of walnuts. I also took the advice from another reviewer and added 1/2 the amount of oil replacing the other half with applesauce. Next time I will remove the oil all together and strictly use applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aspiring Chef
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I forgot to add the brown sugar and I used pistacio nuts instead of walnuts. Although it was a bit crumbly they were really tasty! I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aspiring Chef

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
It's great for Hari Raya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myburntpotsnpans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This recipe was pretty good. (not sure where the picture came from though - mine didn't look like biscuits or cake - more like granola bars) But anyway, I upped the cinnamon to 1 tsp, added coconut flakes & pumpkin pie spice, eliminated the egg (not sure it was necessary & I am allergic to egg protein). Really nice bars, a little on the sweet side. I think next time I will follow some of the other reviewers suggestions and add a little less brown sugar, and maybe a little less oil too - it seemed to come out just a little bit oily - but then again that could have been me going overboard on the non-stick spray too I suppose... I didn't have parchment paper handy this go 'round. Will probably use a little less oil next time anyway to try to balance out the coconut and make sure that wasn't the issue. At any rate, a keeper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Linden, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States