Granola Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Easy and delicious. The kids loved it! Here are a few changes I made.I didn't have honey, so I added 1/2 cup corn syrup instead. Also substituted orange flavoring instead of vanilla (YUM). And last but not least,instead of 1/2 c wheat germ, I sis 1/4/ c wheat germ and 1/4 c flax seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Beyelia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
YUM!!! I have tried these three times in the last week and based on other reviews I think the best combo is 1/2 all purpose flour, 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 oil, 1/2 apple sauce. My second batch had Craisins and the zest of a medium orange (added to the wet ingredients) as well as a splash of OJ. Those were AWESOME! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Very easy and flexible recipe, and very tasty! I used a mix of dried cranberries and raisins, added 3/4 cups of chocolate chips and a handful of sunflower seeds. Baked for a full 30 mins. Next time might try to bake at 20 to see if the bars are more chewy, but are still pretty chewy even at the 30 min mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
These are delicious...bars. I would not call these granola bars. They are similar to a Quaker Breakfast Cookie, but better. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, but kept everything else. Also added 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I know I'm going to sound picky, but to me this recipe as written was just too bland. It has great possibilities to be creative, just wish I would have done so with my first batch instead of sticking to the recipe like I did. Next time I would definitely increase the cinnamon and raisins, or go with combinations suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I made the recipe with only minor changes (didn't have wheat germ and I threw in some pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds, and substituted dried cranberries for raisins). Even though I reduced the brown sugar a bit, I still found it too sweet for my tastes (which is often the case). Next time, I'll cut down to 1/4 cup and reduce the honey a bit too. A good base recipe that I can now tweak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Wow! I used the basic recipe but left out the walnuts and instead added sunflower seeds and dried cranberries. They didn't even last a week in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Very tasty granola bars! I omitted the nuts however, and it still came out moist, chewy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Great! I subbed dried cranberries, coconut, and some finely chopped crystallized ginger, for the raisins & walnuts. The texture reminds me of a cliff bar, and it's not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
These were good, but a little cakey. I used dried cranberries in place of raisins and liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States