Granola Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I've had this recipe sitting around for YEARS and finally decided to pick up some wheat germ and try them. OMG!!! What was I waiting for? These are so delicious you could serve them as dessert bars. It was the first 80 degree day in MN and the neighborhood kids were biking by and all got to try one. They loved them even with walnuts and craisens. I can't wait to make more different varieties. Thanks for an excellent, super quick, easy, delicious recipe. Made again and when I mixed up they seemed really dry. I added a splash of milk and that seemed to work fine. I thought they were a little sweet as well. Next time may drop the brown sugar by 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
These are great! Did use 1/2 the oil called for and made up the difference with applesauce. Wonderful! Add any mixture of dried fruit you like and any kind of nut you like. These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDI12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kings Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mooresboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
These are so easy and good! I substituted chocolate chunks for the raisins because my husband doesn't like them. They made the whole house smell wonderful while they were baking, and my hubby loved them. I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I read about all the granola bars on this site and chose to make these. They turned out great! I read lots of the reviews and ended up doing 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat flour, sub. flax meal for part of the wheat germ, adding an extra egg, putting in a little less sugar, doing part maple syrup and part honey, adding orange zest and juice to the wet ingredients, adding a little more cinnamon, subbing half applesauce for half of the oil, using a little almond extract because I didn't have vanilla, and most importantly (I think) changing one cup of oatmeal to old fashioned instead of quick. I used raisins and craisins and baked for about 25 minutes. The family loves them and are ready to take them on our car trip tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I thought these were so good and easy to make. I added 1/2 c. dried cranberries, 1/2 c. dried apricots, 1/2 c. walnuts and 1/2 c. sliced almonds. My 3 year old son loved mixing them with his hands and eating them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
WOW made a few changes that the other reviewers suggested and I'm hooked! 2 cups quick cooking oats 1/2 cup flour 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour 1/2 cup packed brown sugar 1/2 cup dried cherries 1/4 cup wheat germ 1/4 milled flaxseed 1/2 teaspoon salt 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon 1/2 cup chopped almonds 1/4 cup vegetable oil 1/4 cup apple sauce 1/2 cup honey 2 eggs 1 tablespoon vanilla extract 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips 1/4 almond butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COMONMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Pine, Oregon, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is the 3rd granola bar recipe I have tried and it's a toss between this one and the Easy Granola Bars recipe. These tasted great when still slightly warm out of the oven, but a day later they are pretty crunchy. I added half the recommended sugar and also felt that there was too much "batter" (for lack of a better term) for the size of the pan the recipe calls for so I used a longer casserole dish, 9X20, and it almost filled the entire container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Great recipe, huge hit, I make them regularly. I always double the recipe and bake in 9x13 pan to make them extra thick. I like to substitute pancake syrup for honey, I always have more of that on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
It was really good, quite tasty yet healthy. At first I thought they are a bit hard, but they become better next day. I used old-fashioned oats and substituted sunflower seeds for nuts. I was gonna use it as a 'post-workout' snack, so I didn't use the sugar, but added about a 1/2 cup of fructose and used only 1/2 cup of flour and 1/2 cup of vanilla protein powder (glad I did cause it actually added very nice strong vanilla ice-cream flavour to them:)) and omited vanilla extract at all. As I said, it was tasty, pleasantly chewy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Petersburg, St. Petersburg (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Hi, this recipe is awesome! I did make some modifications though after reading some reviews. My updated recpe is below: • 2 cups quick cooking oats • 1 cup whole wheat flour • 1/4 c. white sugar- didnt have any brown sugar left :( • 3/4 cup cranberries • 1/2 cup ground flaxseed • 1/2 teaspoon salt • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon • 1/2 cup pumpkin and sunflower seeds • ¼ c. applesauce, ¼ c. vegetable oil (i used melted margarine to sub. for oil, i was out of that too!) • 1/2 cup honey • 2 eggs • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract • ¾ c. chocolate chips They turned out delicious, every one in the house loved them! Next time I will try to make it more healthy.. no chocolate:( and try adding protein powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States