Granola Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This recipe was OK. I used chopped pecans instead of chopped walnuts,and I put in 1/4 cup of peanut butter and 1/4 cup of mashed banana instead of the oil. There was a really strong banana taste in the end, but I enjoyed them. I reduced the brown sugar just a tad, and used crushed Chex Mix instead of the wheat germ. It was oatmeal cookie like. You could definitely make these into oatmeal cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimWarriorCatLover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Delicious and the kids love them. I do a batch with mini chocolate chips, a batch with a cup of peanut butter and a batch of regular. The kids love these as snacks for school and home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Oh so good and oh so easy. Tried the recipe as is for the first batch and it was so awesome. My husband and I then started raiding our cabinets for different ingredients for another batch. We are making our list for different variations we can use. These won't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Really didn't care for this recipe. Like other members said, too cookie like. And not a good oatmeal cookie to boot. Lacking in flavor. Added extra cinnamon (to 1 tsp), added a 1/4 tsp almond extract to go with the almonds I added and still found it bland. If you like cakey bars you may like this but still go with the extra cinnamon or you won't find it flavorful enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4Six!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Birch Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
i didn't add nuts or wheat germ, but it turned out ok...........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crytsal Ma
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was very easy to make and very tasty! I made some modifications to the recipe. I didn't have any wheat germ so i didn't use it. Instead of vegetable oil, I used coconut oil to reduce fat. Since I'm allergic to walnuts, I added crushed natural almonds, unsalted pumpkin seeds and raisins. I'm sure whatever nuts or seeds you use it will turn out delicious. Next time I will use less sugar. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Easy to prepare. I reduced the brown sugar, used wheat bran instead of germ and added nuts and a mixture of died fruit including my own dried blueberries. Also added peanut butter. This is a good basic recipe and can be added to easily. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
i love these so easy and healthy. i no longer buy box bars I prefer these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Fantastic, but too sweet. Next time I'm going to make variations. Will replace egg with 3 egg whites, will decrease brown sugar by at least 1/4 cup maybe more. Hopefully it will be just as good. But as is, we love, love, love it. Forgot to add, used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and reduced the cinnamon by 1/4 teaspoon the first time we made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
These are VERY good! I lost both my standard recipes today....could be a blessing because these are so delicious. I may decrease sugar a bit. They are very sweet. I also doubled and used a half sheet pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States