Granola Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
awesome! Made it with chocolate chips and my boys devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Wonderful Flavor!!! So easy and delicious, no more store bought for us. I did use a 11x7 pan to make it a little thicker. The variations are endless---next time I will try dried cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Great!! Love love love this recipe. I used 1/4 cup of brown sugar instead of 3/4 cup- it was plenty. I also used raisins and just a few white chocolate chips. Will make again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This recipe was very good. I added cranraisins, peanut butter. This recipe was very good. I will make it again.!!! I like this recipe because you can add whatever you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
We love this recipe! We will never purchase granola bars from a store again. I replaced the egg with Ener-G Egg Replacer, and it worked great. Ener-G is a great egg alternative in baking for vegans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
My son has Type 1 diabetes so I try to use Stevia in place of sugar for making his snacks. Well, it came out great! This is what I used: 2c. long cooking oats, 1c. freshly milled wheat flour, a little less than 2 Tbs. of Stevia powder, 1c.raisens, 1/2c. Wheat Germ, 1/2 tsp.sea salt, 1 tsp.cinnamon, 1/2c.pecans, 2/3c.Coconut Oil, 1/2c.Honey, 1 whole egg and 2tsp vanilla extract. He loves them and so do we! I will add some extras next time to try to give him a little variations. I did use a lot of suggestions from other reviewers and felt like I made a successful granola bar. I baked mine in a 9x13 stone (bar pan), they came out thin and more like a nature valley granola bar-crunchy but not TOO crunchy. I used parchement paper for a liner. Awesome recipe and I will be making this a lot for sure! Thanks for recipe and all of the suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
These were VERY easy to make, and taste great! Much better than the store-bought bars. They are a *touch too sweet for my taste, so I may reduce the brown sugar to 1/2 cup next time. I left out the nuts (personal preference) and didn't have wheat germ, so I smashed up some Grape-Nuts cereal in its place. I cut them with a pizza cutter while they were still warm, made it very easy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Very good!!! I had no problem with these holding together and the texture is perfect. I did reduce the brown sugar to 1/2 cup per one reviewer's suggestion and substituted pecans for the walnuts (I'm allergic to walnuts...). Overall, a recipe I'll use again and again to avoid the high cost of prepackaged bars and the preservatives in them. I do plan to experiment with chocolate chips, dried fruit, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This recipe has endless variations. I took the suggestions of several other of the reviewers and adjusted the honey, oil, etc. Overall it was okay. It is definitely worth a try. I always use my kids to guage the success of a recipe. They weren't too crazy about this one. I liked it though if that counts:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I really like this recipe. Very easy and a healthy alternative to store-bought granola bars! Instead of wheat germ I used Ground Flax Seed and Hemp Hearts and Craisins in place of raisins as well as almonds instead of walnuts. I also took the advice from another reviewer and added 1/2 the amount of oil replacing the other half with applesauce. Next time I will remove the oil all together and strictly use applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States