Granola Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Considering this was my first attempt at making granola bars, I was pleased with the results. However, I wasn't so pleased that I would never consider a different recipe. My main dislike had to do with the sweetness. With all that sugar and honey, these bars are very sweet. It's fine if you are looking for a cookie dessert type of thing, but maybe not so great for a healthy snack. If you can get past that, then make them. They are fast to whip up and make a good sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
These arent granola bars... more like oat cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Incredible! I was looking for something that would rival chewy store-bought, and this recipe did it! My boyfriend is allergic to nuts, but I had no trouble substituting! Just used 1 1/4 cups of a variety of dried fruits, etc. in place of raisins and walnuts. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Awesome recipe! I used almost all organic ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
We like these a lot. They are soft and chewy. I used 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 oil. Also used peanuts instead of walnuts and 1/4 cup of ground flaxseed instead of wheat germ. Turned out very nicely baking for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I have just thrown these in the oven and thought I better right down the changes before I forget, because I think they will be good! I used 1/2 cup spelt flour, 1/2 cup kamut flour, instead of 1 cup white. 1/2 cup brown, 1/3 cup coconut, 1/3 cup walnut, 1/2 60% cocoa chocolate chips and 1/4 cup hemp seed. 1/4 cup olive oil, 1/4 cup applesauce and the rest was kept the same. Can't wait to get them cut up,yum. Well they are cool enough!! The best granola bar recipe I have made..Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Good recipe and super easy to make. I baked this as written and will definitely make again but with some variations as suggested by other reviewers. It was a bit bland otherwise so I definitely recommend adding more but since this recipe is loaded with possibilites, it will be easy to spice up to my family's specifications. I also recommend baking for 20 minutes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Great! I too only baked for 20 minutes. Perfectly chewy and loads of possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
These are my favorite granola bars to make!! Its so easy to add and take away different ingrediants to the base recipe. I love them, my family loves them... sometimes I use half applesauce half oil to cut the fat alittle.. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Good flavor. Easy to make. Texture seems a bit cakey if made according to the directions. Upon making these a multiple times, I've used applesauce instead of oil, adding extra liquid. If they seem to moist before baking, I add extra old-fashioned oats. Other substitutions: 1 c. old-fashioned oats for 1 c. quick cooking oats; whole wheat flour for flour; craisins for the raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States