Granola Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Soccer tournament: coach says 'healthy' boys want tasty. I took some guff for MAKING granola bars, but after our van full of boys and moms tasted these, I went from heel to hero. I did switch raisins to mini chips, other than that I followed the recipe to the letter. These are delicious and don't have the sticky-probably-chemical quality of store bought chewy granola bars. I'll be making these for all my kids' sport teams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I've been searching for an oatmeal breakfast bar and finally found one that I like! I made a few modifications. I omitted the raisins and added approx 1/3 cup chocolate chips instead. I used whole wheat flour and I also replaced the oil with 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. I will definitely make this recipe again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I love this recipe! Only changes were substituting whole wheat flour, cutting brown sugar to 1/2 cup and using 1/2 cup crushed wheat chex in place of the wheat germ. Great snack for lunchboxes too! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Best bar recipe I've found on this site. I used regular oats (vs quick oats) and they were fine. Added coconut and choco chips to the mix and it turned out well. Cook only 20 minutes. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
awesome snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
My bars turned out to be a little more than one-half inch thick. I took others' suggestions and replaced AP flour with whole wheat, used 2 eggs, and replaced honey with maple syrup. I don't know how much chewiness that extra egg really added. Next time I'll follow the recipe exactly and see how different the taste might be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Very good as a master recipe. Will make this again with other fruits and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I love this recipe because it is so flexable, after making the base, you can put anything in it you want. I made one with dried fruit & nuts another with choclate chip & nuts & marshmallows. The chocolate chip ones turned out perfect but after cooling, the fruit & nut ones seemed too gooey...no problem, I just put them back in the oven and baked a bit more and they turned out just right. You can have them soft & chewy or a bit crispy, just depends on how long you leave them in the oven. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Nall Matson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmyra, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was an awesome recipe! I did do some substitutes though. I didn't have any wheat germ. I added sesame seeds, flax seeds, and vanilla whey protein powder. I also used craisans and reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup due to the added sweetness of the protein powder.Loved it, this is the type of recipe that you can't mess-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca-l

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Now that I haqve meade these both my hubby and kids have told me I am never alloed to buy granola bars again. They were a huge hit by everyone that tried them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States