Granola Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Soccer tournament: coach says 'healthy' boys want tasty. I took some guff for MAKING granola bars, but after our van full of boys and moms tasted these, I went from heel to hero. I did switch raisins to mini chips, other than that I followed the recipe to the letter. These are delicious and don't have the sticky-probably-chemical quality of store bought chewy granola bars. I'll be making these for all my kids' sport teams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I've been searching for an oatmeal breakfast bar and finally found one that I like! I made a few modifications. I omitted the raisins and added approx 1/3 cup chocolate chips instead. I used whole wheat flour and I also replaced the oil with 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. I will definitely make this recipe again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I love this recipe! Only changes were substituting whole wheat flour, cutting brown sugar to 1/2 cup and using 1/2 cup crushed wheat chex in place of the wheat germ. Great snack for lunchboxes too! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Best bar recipe I've found on this site. I used regular oats (vs quick oats) and they were fine. Added coconut and choco chips to the mix and it turned out well. Cook only 20 minutes. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
awesome snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
My bars turned out to be a little more than one-half inch thick. I took others' suggestions and replaced AP flour with whole wheat, used 2 eggs, and replaced honey with maple syrup. I don't know how much chewiness that extra egg really added. Next time I'll follow the recipe exactly and see how different the taste might be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Very good as a master recipe. Will make this again with other fruits and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I love this recipe because it is so flexable, after making the base, you can put anything in it you want. I made one with dried fruit & nuts another with choclate chip & nuts & marshmallows. The chocolate chip ones turned out perfect but after cooling, the fruit & nut ones seemed too gooey...no problem, I just put them back in the oven and baked a bit more and they turned out just right. You can have them soft & chewy or a bit crispy, just depends on how long you leave them in the oven. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Nall Matson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmyra, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was an awesome recipe! I did do some substitutes though. I didn't have any wheat germ. I added sesame seeds, flax seeds, and vanilla whey protein powder. I also used craisans and reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup due to the added sweetness of the protein powder.Loved it, this is the type of recipe that you can't mess-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca-l

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Now that I haqve meade these both my hubby and kids have told me I am never alloed to buy granola bars again. They were a huge hit by everyone that tried them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States