Granola Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I know I'm going to sound picky, but to me this recipe as written was just too bland. It has great possibilities to be creative, just wish I would have done so with my first batch instead of sticking to the recipe like I did. Next time I would definitely increase the cinnamon and raisins, or go with combinations suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I made the recipe with only minor changes (didn't have wheat germ and I threw in some pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds, and substituted dried cranberries for raisins). Even though I reduced the brown sugar a bit, I still found it too sweet for my tastes (which is often the case). Next time, I'll cut down to 1/4 cup and reduce the honey a bit too. A good base recipe that I can now tweak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Wow! I used the basic recipe but left out the walnuts and instead added sunflower seeds and dried cranberries. They didn't even last a week in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Very tasty granola bars! I omitted the nuts however, and it still came out moist, chewy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Great! I subbed dried cranberries, coconut, and some finely chopped crystallized ginger, for the raisins & walnuts. The texture reminds me of a cliff bar, and it's not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
These were good, but a little cakey. I used dried cranberries in place of raisins and liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Soccer tournament: coach says 'healthy' boys want tasty. I took some guff for MAKING granola bars, but after our van full of boys and moms tasted these, I went from heel to hero. I did switch raisins to mini chips, other than that I followed the recipe to the letter. These are delicious and don't have the sticky-probably-chemical quality of store bought chewy granola bars. I'll be making these for all my kids' sport teams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I've been searching for an oatmeal breakfast bar and finally found one that I like! I made a few modifications. I omitted the raisins and added approx 1/3 cup chocolate chips instead. I used whole wheat flour and I also replaced the oil with 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. I will definitely make this recipe again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I love this recipe! Only changes were substituting whole wheat flour, cutting brown sugar to 1/2 cup and using 1/2 cup crushed wheat chex in place of the wheat germ. Great snack for lunchboxes too! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Best bar recipe I've found on this site. I used regular oats (vs quick oats) and they were fine. Added coconut and choco chips to the mix and it turned out well. Cook only 20 minutes. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States