Granola Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I thought these were so good and easy to make. I added 1/2 c. dried cranberries, 1/2 c. dried apricots, 1/2 c. walnuts and 1/2 c. sliced almonds. My 3 year old son loved mixing them with his hands and eating them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
WOW made a few changes that the other reviewers suggested and I'm hooked! 2 cups quick cooking oats 1/2 cup flour 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour 1/2 cup packed brown sugar 1/2 cup dried cherries 1/4 cup wheat germ 1/4 milled flaxseed 1/2 teaspoon salt 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon 1/2 cup chopped almonds 1/4 cup vegetable oil 1/4 cup apple sauce 1/2 cup honey 2 eggs 1 tablespoon vanilla extract 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips 1/4 almond butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COMONMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Pine, Oregon, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is the 3rd granola bar recipe I have tried and it's a toss between this one and the Easy Granola Bars recipe. These tasted great when still slightly warm out of the oven, but a day later they are pretty crunchy. I added half the recommended sugar and also felt that there was too much "batter" (for lack of a better term) for the size of the pan the recipe calls for so I used a longer casserole dish, 9X20, and it almost filled the entire container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Great recipe, huge hit, I make them regularly. I always double the recipe and bake in 9x13 pan to make them extra thick. I like to substitute pancake syrup for honey, I always have more of that on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
It was really good, quite tasty yet healthy. At first I thought they are a bit hard, but they become better next day. I used old-fashioned oats and substituted sunflower seeds for nuts. I was gonna use it as a 'post-workout' snack, so I didn't use the sugar, but added about a 1/2 cup of fructose and used only 1/2 cup of flour and 1/2 cup of vanilla protein powder (glad I did cause it actually added very nice strong vanilla ice-cream flavour to them:)) and omited vanilla extract at all. As I said, it was tasty, pleasantly chewy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Petersburg, St. Petersburg (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Hi, this recipe is awesome! I did make some modifications though after reading some reviews. My updated recpe is below: • 2 cups quick cooking oats • 1 cup whole wheat flour • 1/4 c. white sugar- didnt have any brown sugar left :( • 3/4 cup cranberries • 1/2 cup ground flaxseed • 1/2 teaspoon salt • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon • 1/2 cup pumpkin and sunflower seeds • ¼ c. applesauce, ¼ c. vegetable oil (i used melted margarine to sub. for oil, i was out of that too!) • 1/2 cup honey • 2 eggs • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract • ¾ c. chocolate chips They turned out delicious, every one in the house loved them! Next time I will try to make it more healthy.. no chocolate:( and try adding protein powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Easy and delicious. The kids loved it! Here are a few changes I made.I didn't have honey, so I added 1/2 cup corn syrup instead. Also substituted orange flavoring instead of vanilla (YUM). And last but not least,instead of 1/2 c wheat germ, I sis 1/4/ c wheat germ and 1/4 c flax seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Beyelia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
YUM!!! I have tried these three times in the last week and based on other reviews I think the best combo is 1/2 all purpose flour, 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 oil, 1/2 apple sauce. My second batch had Craisins and the zest of a medium orange (added to the wet ingredients) as well as a splash of OJ. Those were AWESOME! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Very easy and flexible recipe, and very tasty! I used a mix of dried cranberries and raisins, added 3/4 cups of chocolate chips and a handful of sunflower seeds. Baked for a full 30 mins. Next time might try to bake at 20 to see if the bars are more chewy, but are still pretty chewy even at the 30 min mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
These are delicious...bars. I would not call these granola bars. They are similar to a Quaker Breakfast Cookie, but better. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, but kept everything else. Also added 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States