Granola Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Great Toddler Recipe. Most toddlers are picky, I think mine are exceptionally picky :) and they loved these. Not to mention you can add any type of dried fruit or nuts depending on they like and what is age appropriate. This recipe is full of good stuff... an extra egg like one reviewer stated not only makes them softer but adds extra protein along with the wheat germ which toddlers never seem to get enough of... :) Also an easy and fun recipe for your toddler to help dump ingredients and mix. My 3 year old is very proud of cooking her "bars". They're a great recovery snack for my teenager after hockey, we add extra wheat germ in her batch. And last but not least they taste great! Thanks for the geat recipe! They're a hit around our house and the hockey rinks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tessasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
very tasty, added apples for 1/2 the oil, less br sugar and used ww flour. Replaced 1/2 the wheat germ with flax-tasty. Added craisins and almonds-another lunch box keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
These bars are good, even right out of the oven:)I didn't give them 5 stars because I'd like them a little thicker so I can pack only 1 for my husband for bkfst.Also read reviews and played around for the first batch. I added 1/2C applesauce and 1/4C oil, also added 1/2C peanut butter, 1/2C flax seed, 1/2C wheat germ. 1/4C dark chocolate,Only 1/2/c brown sugar and 2 eggs...1/2C craisins. I also pressed a pan into them 20 mins into cooking and then again after they came out 7 minutes later. Let cooled for 10min and use a PIZZA CUTTER to cut them into bars(Worked Great) next time will make bigger batch and cook lower for longer so they're thicker. Plus throw in nuts or seeds (which I didn't have on hand) and maybe Kashi or organic brand of rice puffed cereal, probably 1C.....Hope the family gets a chance to try..I may eat them before they get home..ymmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
These were tasty! A bit gooey, but that was better than being dry. I left off the nuts and raisins and went straight for mini-chocolate chips. I also used less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSDORKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This was a great recipe. Much better than the other ones on the site. I didn't have walnuts, so I used toasted pecans and they were great. I'll be making these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I LOVE this as a base recipe!! I have made these about a dozen times and have made a few changes to make them a higher protein bar. I sub. the flour for half whole wheat flour and half vanilla soy protein powder. I sub the oil for apple butter or unsweetened applesauce. I use 1/4 cup b.sugar. I chop up walmart trail mix for nuts and dried fruit. Its alot cheaper and I always have it on hand. The tropical trail mix has alot more dried fruit in it. And last, I double the recipe and put in a cookie sheet. COmes out great. Have fun with this recipe. The possibilities are endless!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILDBEAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I have made these many times since finding this recipe & it is the best granola recipe I have tried! Each time it's perfect and fantastic! I have made them for myself the first time with Old Fashioned Oats and they were scrumptious, my husband who hates walnuts ate these up with me then and wanted more. (I did not tell them walnuts were in them!!) I made them again with the Quick Oats and without Raisins and also other times and wow, these are so gorgeous and delicious! I do increase the Vanilla to 1 Tablespoon and the Cinnamon to 1 heaping teaspoon. My husband says the house smells like Christmas when I make thse! I love to make them, its so easy and they are indeed nutritious!! These are wonderful. Mine are done in exactly 22 minutes. I pull them out of the oven and immediately slice them up into nice bars. Then I wait for them to cool & the uneven ends I toss into a tupperware container so we can snack as we want on these smaller ends. I also put about 8 bars in each sandwich freezer bags together for each of us. I label the freezer bags with his or mine & when we are running out we simply pull out a bag of our own granola bars! YUM! Simply wonderful. The last time I made mine I replaced molasses for the honey in the recipe and you know the taste is the same. Maybe its just me. These are delicious, not really sweet at all and just wonderful. It is a full proof recipe! The next time I make them I will add some peanut butter! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anabela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Maybe its because I used old fashioned oats instead of the quick kind, or large eggs; but I did not enjoy these. Suprisingly, they weren't that sweet, and it was alot like eating a very bland oatmeal cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This recipe is amazing. I tried other granola bars from this site this one is by far the best. The flavor is outstanding! I used craisins, walnuts and white chocolate chips. Also subbed applesauce for half of the oil. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nikiski, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kasilof, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I've had this recipe sitting around for YEARS and finally decided to pick up some wheat germ and try them. OMG!!! What was I waiting for? These are so delicious you could serve them as dessert bars. It was the first 80 degree day in MN and the neighborhood kids were biking by and all got to try one. They loved them even with walnuts and craisens. I can't wait to make more different varieties. Thanks for an excellent, super quick, easy, delicious recipe. Made again and when I mixed up they seemed really dry. I added a splash of milk and that seemed to work fine. I thought they were a little sweet as well. Next time may drop the brown sugar by 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States