Granny's Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
We loved it! My sister is on a very healthy diet. With that being said there was so much additional creaminess to this dish the next time I prepare it for her I am going to add her frig full of lovely veggies such as maybe half a red, and yellow pepper, zucchini and yellow squash,a little spinach, and whatever else I need to use. I do not want to alter the recipe to a great extent, because, it was terrific as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Great Pepperidge Farm Stuffing recipe from many, many, years ago! Been making this for 30 plus years!! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Taste is good, but texture is not great. Too soupy and mushy. Could have used some more crunch and density.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
We went for a low-carb Thanksgiving this last year. This was one of several dishes used to replace the traditional stuffing, mashed potatoes, etc. The family was absolutely amazed at how satisfying this wonderfully savory (and healthy) dish was. I blinked at it was gone. Have made it several times since, with the same results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Tasty! I am testing out Thanksgiving side dishes and I can see using this for sure. It's VERY filling, by the way, so you only need a small serving. I only found a butternut squash that was 3lbs but I thought that amount worked well. I took the advice of other reviewers and steamed the squash with the onion and I didn't find it to be too runny at all. I used half the sour cream and butter - tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eViE nOeL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
The first time I made this recipe I didn't have any sour cream. It was fabulous and there were no leftovers! The second time I made the recipe I used sour cream and the dish was just okay, the leftovers went to waste. I recommend leaving out the sour cream, carrots, pimentos, and the italian style salad dressing mix. You can also use zucchini in the recipe and it turns out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
squash has enough water in it, no need to add more. Adding water makes squash soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Tasty recipe! I substituted green chiles for the pimento peppers and added a bit of garlic powder to the mix. I also used about half the amount sour cream. Did not use the italian seasoning because we didn't have any on hand. Turned out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
An favorite at family gatherings for years. Next generation asking for the recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntLaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I made this for a dinner for a crowd and we all loved it. I left off the salad dressing mix because I didn't have any, so I sprinkled about 10 crumbled whole wheat crackers on top instead. I also sauteed the squash and onions in the butter instead of boiling it. I had no idea what was meant by a "medium baking dish", but I used a 9 X 12, and it worked out fine. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States