Granny's Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I substituted maple syrup for the molasses, and brown sugar for white sugar because I don't care for molasses. My kids and I loved it. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and sprinkled oatmeal and white sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Thought this was a good loaf of bread. Made beef stew with it for dinner one night and it sure was good dipped in the broth. Did use whole wheat flour in the recipe In stead of all purpose. Would like to find another bread that has a stronger oatmeal taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Made this bread this evening, half the recipy and loved it. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Absolutely love this bread. My husband also has been raving about it. The only thing I changed was I used 6 grain cereal that we buy at a local mill. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by golfmom1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magna, Utah, USA
Living In: Willard, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
We loved this bread. More moist than some oatmeal recipes and we didn't think the molasses was too much at all. One issue: the recipe says to bake for 1 hour!? The usual 25 minutes was good in my oven, glad I didn't follow the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I cut the recipe in half and it still made a wonderful size loaf and I also cut back the molasses to 1/3 and it was heaven . It also smells so good baking as well . I will definately make this again . I used what ever oats I had in the cabinet and it came out just as good . This will be a favorite at my house .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Smells amazing while baking! I mix/bake bread at work all day so at home I cheat and use my Kitchen Aid mixer with dough hook for bread. I mixed it for four minutes on medium low instead of hand kneading. Left the ingredients in tact, as I always do when making a recipe for the first time. I did, however, do a third rising as I usually do with most breads. But my second batch! WOW! Wanted to experiment, so I added half a cup of raisins, 1/2 cup light brown sugar, and a tablespoon of cinnamon. Best cinnamon raisin bread I have made. Sprinkled some oats and sugar on top as well for presentation (and the sugar makes a nice crispness on top.) Thank you! Excellent bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I could not find my tried and true recipe for oatmeal bread and so I took a chance on this new recipe. It was wonderful, I did add 1/4 cup of honey as I usually do with my other recipe, but did not change any other ingredients. My family liked it even better than my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DarcieA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was my favorite homemade bread I have ever made. It has such a rich flavor- everyone loved it. Be sure to have lots of flour handy for the kneading process as this is a sticky dough. Also- watch the bread closely- mine was done cooking in 45 minutes. Otherwise- I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. Thank you and I will post a picture soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This was delicious, we love it! I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpose, very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States