Granny's Homemade Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by vikingprinsesse
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I'd been using another recipe on Allrecipes as my standby, but thought I'd give this one a shot. I liked it a lot and it made plenty of noodles for a big pot of turkey soup with leftovers to dry further and use later. These aren't as fluffy as the other recipe, but in a way, they held up better for longer cooking in the soup than I was expecting. I did the recipe exactly as written with the exception of using a KitchenAid stand mixer with a dough hook to knead the dough to a soft consistency. I then rolled and cut them with a pasta maker, just to save time. Will definitely use these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikingprinsesse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I was interested in the comments about "double boiling." I had never even considered their reasons for doing so. I have always done a variation of this, but for a different reason. So that the noodles don't soak up so much broth in their cooking, I first boil the noodles in salted water for half of their required boiling time (which of course depends upon the thickness of the noodles), and then I put them into the soup (so they can absorb some of the flavor) to finish cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Amazing!! Finally found a great homemade noodle recipe. I could never get my chicken soup to thicken with the other noodle recipes I was using. This is what I have been looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Thank you - a real good recipe for the first time homemade pasta maker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
When we were growing up my Mother would boil them , drain them, and then lightly fry in butter, then toss wit cottage cheese. We added catsup! Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I make these but do not put in Baking powder, I will try it. An easy way to cut your noodles, if you are in a hurry or your dough is a bit soft, use your Pizza cutter. If you need square noodles, make squares. Lift with a chop stick or floured hands and hang them to dry on a little rack if you have one. My Aunt Ethil always cut open a paper grocery sack, rolled out and dried her noodles on this. The brown paper absorbs moisture. Easy clean up! I never heard of double boiling but I'm going to do it, as I have had the noodles cloud the broth. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Manistee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
4 eggs make a very big batch. I tend to use 1/2 pasta flour and use garlic salt instead of regular salt. Even without these changes, homemade noodles are the greatest. And I use cubed fried bread (8slices) to put with noodles. Use lots of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I found that my measure of flour made the dough slightly dry. I think people forget that density of flour in the cup will either make it work, or make the recipe fail. I added a little extra water to make the cough come together. I wrapped and let it rest for 30 minutes then rolled out batches using my pasta roller. Another thing that can make the dough seem drier or wetter even if the flour is sifted before measuring. People often forget that flour will absorb moisture in humid weather and dry out in more arid air. So the amount of liquid needed will vary. It is usually a good practice to hold back some of the flour to be added later if the consistency warrants. JMHO. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
My grandma made hers with just eggs and flour, so that's what I do...very simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Laun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I am in my late 70's and have made noodles for ever. Only difference I have never used baking powder. My grand kids beg for these noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayle Otteman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States