Granny's Homemade Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
absolutely the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Great recipe. I did have to add a little extra water though, but no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Perfect, thanks. I was looking for something different than the usual store bought Fettuccini Noodles to use with my Beef Stroganoff. This recipe was awesome, it gave new life to my Stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I make these quite often, I have a noodle cutter, it rolls over the dough and cuts it into 5 strips about 1/2 inch wide. I too double boil the noodles, first in water to take out the cloudiness, and then they go into either chicken or beef broth. Or sometimes if I am making chicken with vegetables, instead of making dumplings I will put in the noodles, and these I do not double boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This is pretty much the same recipe I've used for years to make all sorts, shapes and sizes of pasta. The rule I learned from my husband's aunt is to use 1 egg per person you expect to serve, add other ingredients to accommodate any additional eggs. I have also learned that weather plays a big role in getting the right consistency in the dough ... too humid out, takes longer to dry. Lastly, I agree with the comment by alexislm001 to double boil. On rare occasions when I did not have the time to do this, my soup got cloudy and it seemed to thicken up whatever sauce I served the noodles in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nolan Dole
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
These turned out great! I used them to make some chicken noodle soup, and let them dry all night so they'd absorb a maximum amount of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nolan Dole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Great recipe! I have always made them guessing at the amounts. But this works way better. Also a tip to cutting the noodles. Do not cut them until after the drying time. If the dough is still slightly sticky rub a thin layer of flour on top. Next roll into a tube. With a sharp knife slice to desired thickness. Then unroll them all and you get a nice pile of noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairborn, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This did not turn out well. It was so incredibly dry. I added an additional 6 tablespoons of water and it was still a hard ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Absolutely easy and wonderful taste! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Halvorson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bagley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I've learned from my great grandmother to double boil my noodles. First put them in hot water on the stove to remove all of the flour and then cook them in the broth, we always use turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States