Granny's Corn Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I think my mistake was trying these out for the first time when we were hungry. They are more labor intensive than I had hoped for: The dough rolled out well, but when I fried them they took a while to brown and then were stiff and chewy. I rerolled even thinner and then they were better in the sense that they were crispy. I had to sprinkle aditional salt on them after frying. The ones that didn't have sharp edges that hurt to chew were good. If you have time, and aren't hungry while making them, you might be able to make a good tortilla out of this recipe. I'll stick to store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dagwood17

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
These were ok, they were a little hard to roll out. They were different than I thought they would be, I think I will use just flour tortillas the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
These did not work at all for me, and I have successfully made tortillas before. They were dry and salty. Brown spots never appeared when I cooked them, although I tried frying them in three different kinds of fat. The dough was very dry and crumbly and hard to work with. I will look for a different corn tortilla recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
these are sooo much better than the dry tasteless supermarket ones.the secret to these is not to over cook, cook only til small brown spots appear, keep dough covered with damp towel while rolling out.i covered them with saran as each one was cooked, has anyone tried them with all white flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I wanted to make burritos for supper and had everything except for the tortillas so I decided to make them myself, something I had never done. I came across this recipe and thought I would try it. It was quick and the tortillas turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Delicious tortillas. Easy recipe. The dough was a touch dry, but nothing that can't be worked out. I added some finely minced jalapeno to the dough for a bit of a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I gave three stars because I'm just not sure yet. The reviews give high ratings and excellent comments so I must have done something wrong. I will make them again and see how it goes. I will also go get me some kind of cast iron skillet. I cooked for many years with cast iron so I'm very familiar with it. I lost all my cast iron in a recent move and just haven't gotten any more. Ok, I got the cast iron from a friend(seasoned about 10 years) and followed the recipe carefully. I did not like the way they turned out again, even with the cast iron. I like corn tortillas, and flour tortillas. But I don't like cornmeal tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This is a very easy recipe. To me it's like really thin cornbread. My kids had them for a snack. I hadn't even finished cooking them when they were asking for them and they really enjoyed them. DH who does not like cornbread thought they were pretty good. I like tortillas that do not break when you roll them and the way I made these they did break but not too bad. I usually check the reviews to see if someone suggests an adjustment to the recipe but I didn't this time so I made the recipe exactly as written. I may make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
These were very good! When I fried them I used a pepper oil to give the tortillas an extra kick. I won't go back to store bought tortillas again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atchison, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I am giving this 2 stars only because I am assuming I did something wrong...I mean really wrong but these were not good at all. The flavor is bland and the texture, gritty. I recommend trying these but be prepared with a back up plan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by welldone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States