Granny's Cherokee Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This recipe is a great base to add what you would like. I actually changed it up quite a bit. I used real rice that I cooked while I cooked the ground beef and onions and 'minced' garlic. I omitted the oregano, thyme, and sugar. I added a good amount of salt, pepper, and Red pepper flakes ground through a spice grinder very finely. I used a can of rotel tomatoes (milder) and Cream of mushroom with roasted garlic. I blended everything together and added about a cup of milk so it wouldn't dry out in the oven. I topped it with shredded "mexican" cheese and some shredded 5 Cheese italian. Baked it as directed. It was really good. You could do so much with this recipe. My hubby and I were talking about stuffing tortillas with it, toppin them with the cheese and your choice of salsa or enchilada sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LHUEZO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Lake, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Amanda L.
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I made this for supper tonite..i made a few changes in the seasonings...i used paprika, garlic powder, salt/pepper and a little bit of chili powder and about 1tbs. of crushed red peppers, also used 1 can of tomatoes with green chilis, this was very good..my husband tasted it and said it was right up his alley, i offered him sour cream to top it off and he said no it was perfect the way it was! Oh yeah, i also used pepperjack and american cheese slices on the top. I will be making this again..Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This was good. My husband didn't care for all the cheese. My children and I all liked it, but I don't know if I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Porter, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I gave this recipe 5 stars for the combination of ease, availability of ingredients, and it tastes pretty good, too! This is a perfect recipe for a busy weeknight. It has quickly become a go-to for me. I everything on hand. The only thing I change - I omit the oregano. Instead I add a teaspoon each of chili powder and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Turtle Lake, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
My very picky two-year-old really like this therefore we gave it 4 stars. Followed the recipe exactly except used less garlic powder, 1 T just seemed like and awful lot. The oregano and tyme did have a stronger flavor than I would've thought with only 1 t each. Husband thought it'd be a good filling for stuffed green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
With a family of 6, I'm lucky to get half to like what I serve. THEY ALL LOVED THIS ONE. I added the garlic, and used colby-jack slices. Pepper Jack would be great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I don't eat meat, but my hubby and Dad said it was good. I left out the sugar and added corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Loved it! It needed one more can of the soup, but otherwise great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very tasty meat recipe! My boyfriend and I enjoyed it very much. I followed the recipe and also added some cumin and paprika for added flavor. I also used instant brown rice and it came out nice and cooked all the way. I ate the leftovers with some tortilla chips, it was great the next day as well. It's definitely a recipe good for a potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I used whole grain macaroni instead of rice. My family loved it!!!!! Very easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States