Granny's Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
My son had a skin lesion biopsied (Came back negative), and I was looking for the perfect treat. I followed the advice of others and used half brown sugar and half regular sugar, and I also baked at 350 for 30 minutes. DELICIOUS!!! My son said they were the best he'd ever had! I'll never make brownies from a box again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I thought two cups of brown sugar would be a bit heavy for this recipe so I used half brown/half white sugar. The brownies backed for an hour and a half and were still runny in the center while the outer bits were done to perfection. Next time I'll bake in a bit larger pan and move the temp up to 375 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I modified these too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4thegospel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I thought these were SO delicious! I have made them 4 times and everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlin
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
The best brownies we have ever had! I made a few modifications: used 1.5 C of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of organic sugar, added a splash of peppermint extract and baked for 45 minutes at 250 and then 20 minutes at 325. They were so moist and delicious! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I couldn't get these to cook quite right. Because of the other comments, and the picture, I added another oz.of chocolate which I believe helped quite a bit. My family prefers fudgier, chocolatier brownies I think. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lycoris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
A very yummy brownie! I made these for a family get-together so I doubled the recipie, baked at 350 degrees for 30 -35 minutes in a 9x12 dish, and added fudge icing (combine 1-1/4 cup sugar and 1 cup heavy cream in saucepan over medium heat about 3 minutes; then heat on low for 7 min. without stirring. Remove from heat and stir in 4 oz baking chocolate and 1/2 cup butter; add 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, stir until smooth. Chill in regrigerator about 30 min., stirring every few minutes.) Everyone loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Just made these and they taste great! Since many reviewers said the cooking instructions were a problem I tried 350 and ended up cooking them for about 45 minutes. At first I tried the cooking time from the one bowl recipe on this site; since this recipe is indentical except that it call for white sugar instead of brown. I checked it at 30 minutes and it was still wet in the middle. In the end I should have taken these out 5-10 minutes sooner. 250 would not have worked, this must be a mistake. I'll definitely try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I've made these brownies at least four times now, and they are the best I've ever made! Crisp on the outside, and moist on the inside. I serve them warm with vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce, and everyone loves them. I will never make boxed brownies again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
My family thought these were wonderful. I used brown sugar, and I felt they were a little bit sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancingdonna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Vegan Brownies

A great chocolate dessert for people who avoid dairy and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States