Granny's Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Gooey, messy, but good, agree with other reviewers, would probably not make it again, would look for a "normal" recipe for brownies before doing this one again, not a big fan of mushy food. I did follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bountiful-life

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I didn't like the recipe at all. I used a glass 8x8 pan at 350 and needed to bake it for 55 min(the last 20 w/foil). I used semi-sweet bars, it was all I had on hand, maybe that was the problem. I used 4.5 oz just to use up my remaining .5 oz. I also added a bag of mint chocolate chips. They were the only thing that saved this brownie. It was really oily and that could've been from the chips, I did not add in the walnuts. For as much chocolate that went into this recipe, this was a really bland brownie. The edges do get crunchy and the middle is soft with a nice shiny crust on top, it turns out pretty. If you like chocolate and can tell the difference between regular dark chocolate and 60-70% cacao dark chocolate, keep looking, this brownie is not for you. I wasn't wanting something super chocolate-y but I do want to taste chocolate if I've put it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
The recipe itself is GREAT. 350 for 35 to 45 min depending on pan type (glass or metal) is perfect. Awesome taste. Chewy inside, crispy outside- love the texture. I followed thoughts of another reviewer and used half white and half brown sugar, but left everything else except temp the same. Brownie nirvana, lol! I don't think they would be quite as good without the chocolate squares. My experience in substituting the powdered chocolate/w/butter and water is that it works and tastes good, but is not as rich, so for less experienced cooks, stick with the recipe, but correct the temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I was awesome, I got minio chocolate chip and put them in the recipe and sprikled pecaans on the top of the brownies! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexa100

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This is a great recipe! I did not use the walnuts and took the advice of others and raised the temp to 350. 50 min on the dot was perfect! No overcooked edges or undercooked middle. It has a cake texture and we prefer more of a gooey. Still has wonderful flavor and I will make again! After they sat overnight they weren't very good. I don't plan to make them again unless we are having company and there will be no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewlster1259

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
These were really good!!!!! After reading the other revies I did cook them at 350 degrees for about 40 minutes, these are very yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
YAmmy I little more chewy than I wished, mby I overbaked it,,, I do it again and see what happens,,,, We had a potlah in my kids kindergarden in order to paint tha walls,,,, I was a shash!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZefysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
These brownies were fabulous! I made them exactly as directed, (because can you rate something fairly if you changed ingredients or temperature?), and they came out fudgy and delicious! I used a silicone pan and the edges were just crispy chewy, centers melt-in-your-mouth perfect. You go, Granny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
OMG! theses are what I have been looking for my whole life! :) I made them exactly as directed except I baked them for about an hour at 300 degrees. thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Delicious brownies! I did take the recommendations of other reviewers and cook them at 350 degrees for about 35 minutes in a glass dish. They came out lovely and moist, but could definitely use some chocolate chips (I LOVE chocolate)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States