Granny's Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
This is a good standard beef stew recipe, but I thought it would have been better with a lot fewer tomatoes, maybe even less than half of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
I loved this recipe. I through all the ingredients in the crockpot in the morning, and that evening my husband and I enjoyed a delicious meal. I served rye bread too. Rye bread always goes wll with stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This stew was very filling and tasty! Easy ingredients, I had them all around the house so I didnt even have to go to the store; that's points in my book. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I made this for the first time almost 2 years ago and it is now a staple meal in our home. I, too, made a change or two, but one change was pure accident. The only canned tomatoes I had were the diced Red Gold with Green Chilies. The chilies give this stew just enough of a zip putting it ahead of all others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
this is one of the first things i have cooked from scratch, and was very pleased with the out come. put it this way it made all the women in my family shut up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
The cook times on this recipe seemed to be quite odd, as the vegetables needed more then even an hour. The flavor was very good, the texture was a little thinner then we like so I mixed a little flour with the juice and added to soup to thicken. Really Enjoyed on this cold winters night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Valley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
i thought this was great. First time i ever made beef stew right. i did add extra veggies though i love it full of them. will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
The stew turned out great...though I did used cubed turkey and chicken instead of the beef...the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This recipe delivers an excellent flavor, but I might call it beef soup. It could have easily been thickened by adding flour or whatever, but it tasted so good we ate it as it was. I didn't have Worcestershire sauce, so I used two cups of boiling Swanson's beef broth. I also added 4-5 stalks chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Indianola, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Really tasty and easy recipe. We only had 1 lb of beef but we kept all the other measurements the same and added some extra vegetables, like eggplant and mushrooms, which were really good. Had lots of left overs and can't wait to eat it again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States