Granny's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I just made this --- I changed the white flour to whole wheat, and added blueberries as well as the walnuts...Also used equal sugar lite (for baking)...I found I had to add more applesauce (probably cause of the w.w. flour!) I also made them as muffins... I was skeptical when I was portioning the muffins out, as the batter didn't taste great--a sure test for me!! Anyway, as soon as they were done and cooled, I tried one, and they are pretty good!!!! I did have enough banana taste and they were firm, not pasty as some have described--again, due to the w.w. flour..... I would make them again, but substituting all whole wheat flour for 1/2 white, 1/2 w.w. I love blueberries in banana nut muffins---try it sometime---it's a nice surprise....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Mmmm! Thanks for the lower fat, healthy recipe! Followed directions just about exactly (minus nuts/raisins and 1/2 the sugar) and baked to a perfect texture in 1 hour. Great spice mix!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This recipe was great! What a moist, delicious bread. I added golden raisins with chopped walnuts. Simply delicious. I even froze the second loaf for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
this recipe was really great! it's definitely one i would make again. the only things i changed was adding dried cranberries instead of raisins and also putting in a smidge of cardamom. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This recipe was great. I followed the measurements almost exactly. I added extra spices, used spenda instead of sugar, half whole wheat and half white flour, and used 2 loaf pans insead of 1. It was so moist but not dense. amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly as written and my loaf came out very spongy. I think another reviewer had mentioned theirs being gummy and that seems to have been the case with us, too. I'm not really sure why it turned out this way. I suppose the bread could be described as "moist" in some way - which I'm not opposed to - but the texture just wasn't right, and frankly, I didn't find the flavor to be all that great, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
simply wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sajalynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearfield, Utah, USA
Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Very satisfying. Full of flavor. This is a keeper. I used whole grain flour. It baked up beautifully. It makes a wonderful loaf to give as a gift as well as for home. You never miss the oil/fat. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen-Nay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
I use this weekly and it is a fave of my 3 year old. No oil, no fat and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
ECXELLENT BREAD AND WANDERFUL AROMA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States