Granny's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This was such a great, healthy alternative to the other banana breads on this site! I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white flour, and used unrefined raw cane sugar instead of the white sugar (subbed it 1:1) and it was GREAT, and healthier! I doubled the spices, as suggested by others, and doubled the recipe to make 3 9x5 loaves. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was a very good banana bread! We ate it about 10 minutes out of the oven. I changed a couple of things: Used half wheat flour and half white flour. Added a teaspoon of cinnamon and nutmeg. Also cut the sugar to 3/4 cup. And used a snack size applesauce cup as I didn't want to open the large one! Very good, I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Well, this is delicious. I hate to be one of those people, but I did add a tablespoon or so of olive oil to try to keep the bread from being gummy (which happens sometimes). This was REALLY good, even in the batch where I forgot to add the eggs. Chocolate chips aren't even necessary, although it's delicious with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is a healthy version I was looking for. I don't cook with salt so do not miss it in this recipe. Followed recipe just as written. Using spices and raisins in a Banana Bread was new for me~~~~but what a great taste. I already had cinnamon and nutmeg in my homemade applesause so did not use extra. This is defitely a KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Made this one afternoon, I added chocolate chips to the receipt. Well I must say it was the best Banana Bread ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I had to cook this longer than the 45 minutes to get the inside to set, but in doing that, the outside got crunchy. Not sure if covering it would have helped - maybe next time. Not the best banana bread recipe I've found, but not bad at all either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Moist and delicious! 4 teenage boys and it was gone in 5 minutes. Great with some cream cheese on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This isn't bad but the Sour Cream Banana Bread on this site is better IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Bread is in the oven, and I really can't wait to have a slice. But... I used a form that was a bit to small, and I didn't want to waste anything, so i added some granola and baked pancakes. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EwaWild

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
It was wonderful, and my 1 year old son loved it! I changed a little bit because I have left over baby food from my son. Here is what I used 1 cup all-purpose flour 1 cup wheat flower 1 teaspoon baking soda 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg 1 cup white sugar 2 eggs 2 jars of apple baby food 4 jars of banana baby food 1 tablespoon almond extract 1 cup dried sweenened cranberries 1 cup chopped walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princesstrumpet3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States