Granny's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I added another 1/3 cup of applesauce as batter was very dry, the extra applesauce was good. I found it lacked banana flavour next time I might add another banana. It was a good sized loaf and nice and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I followed the recipe to the tee and I have had better lower fat banana bread than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This was excellent! I used 1/2 cup applesauce instead of 1/3 cup. Added 1 tsp of cinnamon rather than 1/2 tsp.. This was a great tasting, lowfat alternative to traditional bannana bread! I was not expecting something without butter or oil to taste this yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
A really great banana bread. I loved the addition of the nutmeg, although, I did reduce it to 1/4 tsp so that others in the family (who don't love nutmeg as much as I do) would also enjoy this bread. I left out the optional raisins and walnuts, but plan on using either walnuts or pecans next time. Love that there is not butter, but the bread was not rubbery or gummy in texture. Would highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Very dense, unpleasantly chewy. I'm a novice at cooking, so I don't know how to fix how seemingly rubber-like it is. It is not what I had expected, at any rate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
very moist, followed suggestions by other reviewers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I have made this recipe four times a couple times as origally written and a couple times with my slight modification of 1/2 cup raisins and 1/2 cup golden raisins to add a little variety and I like the raisin mix better. This is a nice moist bread that feezes well. Its worth the time to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tringe@comcast.net

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Homer Glen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This was such a great, healthy alternative to the other banana breads on this site! I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white flour, and used unrefined raw cane sugar instead of the white sugar (subbed it 1:1) and it was GREAT, and healthier! I doubled the spices, as suggested by others, and doubled the recipe to make 3 9x5 loaves. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was a very good banana bread! We ate it about 10 minutes out of the oven. I changed a couple of things: Used half wheat flour and half white flour. Added a teaspoon of cinnamon and nutmeg. Also cut the sugar to 3/4 cup. And used a snack size applesauce cup as I didn't want to open the large one! Very good, I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Well, this is delicious. I hate to be one of those people, but I did add a tablespoon or so of olive oil to try to keep the bread from being gummy (which happens sometimes). This was REALLY good, even in the batch where I forgot to add the eggs. Chocolate chips aren't even necessary, although it's delicious with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States