Granny's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I just made this recipe, pretty close to how it says to: only changes I made were only using 2 bananas (it's all I had), and I used a heaping 1/2 c. of applesauce. I baked it at 350, because almost every time I use my loaf pan, whatever's inside it gets too crispy on the edges (it is a dark pan). It was in there for 45 minutes (covered with foil for the last 30 minutes) and when I pulled it out, the bottom 1/3 of the loaf was still a little bit undercooked, while the sides and and bottom touching the pan were already a bit too dark (I know from experience that all this is because of my pan). The actual main part of the loaf looked great though. I tasted a piece of the loaf and it was pretty good! But I put it back in, lowered temp to 325 and will cook for 10-15 more minutes, still foil-covered, so hopefully the bottom will finish. Sorry this is so wordy. I just felt like I had a lot to explain, ha, but this really is a great recipe! I didn't give it a perfect 5 because I thought that wouldn't be fair since I did not follow the recipe exactly. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I have made dozens of banana bread recipes, and this one is the family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I'm not sure about this recipe. I can't quite put my finger on what went wrong...and I made it three different times. It's okay, but I like another recipe better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Not moist at all. Tough and slightly rubbery. Way too much nutmeg, and not enough banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumn0587

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Excellent - less dense than other recipes I've used and I love the idea of replacing the butter with the applesauce. You don't miss it - lots of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Can't even tell that the butter is missing! Doubled the spices and added chocolate chips to bump up the flavor, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChocolateLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Very tasty bread, with a nice top crust. Followed other reviews and added 1/2 C. Applesauce and used 4 bananas plus pecans and chocolate chunks. Will increase to 5 bananas next time to increase banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sam1970
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This recipe was not my favorite but was very good, not sweet enough for me. My family enjoyed it though so im happy i tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I added another 1/3 cup of applesauce as batter was very dry, the extra applesauce was good. I found it lacked banana flavour next time I might add another banana. It was a good sized loaf and nice and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I followed the recipe to the tee and I have had better lower fat banana bread than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States