Granny's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
This was great. i made this for a track team dinner and everybody loved it. i used only 3/4c of sugar, and left out the nuts and raisins, but added chocolate chips. everybody wants the recipe now! oh, i would recommend only baking for 35 min... or at least checking it after that long so it doesn't overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I didn't have any applesauce so I used 5 bananas instead. All were very ripe and two had been frozen; when thawed they were very juicy. Added extra cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
Very tasty - my husband went back for more! Lived dangerously in putting this in my largest nut bread pan - it almost went over. Next time I'll make 2 loaves in a regular sized pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This recipe was great. I followed the measurements almost exactly. I added extra spices, used spenda instead of sugar, half whole wheat and half white flour, and used 2 loaf pans insead of 1. It was so moist but not dense. amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I loved this recipe! I changed it a little adding more cinnamon, chocolate chips and pecans (no raisin or walnuts). It has a great spicy banana flavor with my personal favorite -CHOCOLATE! This bread was gone from a party in 30 minutes - with people asking for the recipe! I did use two pans and baked for only 40 minutes. I cannot say it enough - I really love this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly as written and my loaf came out very spongy. I think another reviewer had mentioned theirs being gummy and that seems to have been the case with us, too. I'm not really sure why it turned out this way. I suppose the bread could be described as "moist" in some way - which I'm not opposed to - but the texture just wasn't right, and frankly, I didn't find the flavor to be all that great, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
This bread is SO yummy!! The raisins in it add such a great flavor. It's so tasty for being butter and oil free. It's moist and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Wundervoll! Köstlich! I love this recipe. I only had 2 bananas and 1/2 T of Vanilla extract, and didn't alter the rest of the recipe accordingly, but it still turned out wonderfully! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This recipe was awesome! I have used a banana bread recipe in the past that was too dense, so I was looking for something a little less so. This recipe is much better than the one I used previously. The bread is extremely moist and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This is Wonderful! Make sure to add the Walnuts and Raisins as it really adds to the flavor. I doubled the amount of cinnamon and Nutmeg for a little more flavor. It really does call for two medium pans, not one. cooking time was about 45 minutes in the center of the oven. Great with butter or Cream cheese. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clay, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States